ERA Test

The Endometrial Receptivity Array (ERA®) is an innovative diagnostic test recommended to infertile women with a history of very early pregnancy loss or recurrent implantation failure following an Assisted Reproductive Technique (ART).

  • What is an ERA® Test?

    The ERA® test assesses the lining of the womb (endometrium) at the molecular level, to determine the most optimal timing for implantation of the early embryo. Normally, this is around the 19th-21st day of the menstrual cycle (5-7 days after ovulation), but it can vary depending on individual circumstances.

    In preparation for the arrival of the early embryo, the endometrium grows and thickens, reaching a peak of receptiveness. These few optimal days for the embryo implantation are known as the ‘implantation window’. If an early embryo (blastocyst stage) implants successfully at this point, the receptive endometrium will then form the placenta and pregnancy will proceed. However, if implantation does not happen, the highly regenerative endometrium will shed itself during your menstrual period and start its cycle again.

    Here at AAFC, we use the ERA® test to establish the timing of this endometrial implantation window, as we know from experience that is a crucial factor for the success of an ART. Estimation of endometrial receptivity in the past was done with a series of ultrasound transvaginal scan. But, as the endometrium can be sometimes affected by fertility hormonal treatments, the ERA® test is a lot more reliable and sensitive to individual variation.

    The test involves molecular analysis of an endometrial biopsy a month before your planned ART. The ERA® test specifically looks at 238 genetic markers relating to the status of endometrial receptivity*, and by assessing their levels determines whether the endometrium is in a pre-receptive, receptive or post-receptive phase.

  • Who may need an ERA® Test?

    The ERA® test is highly recommended to women that have previously experienced implantation failure with good quality embryos.

    Additionally, women, older than 37 years of age, are also good candidates for ERA® testing. This is because the age of the mother may contribute in reduced womb receptivity, independently of an early miscarriage incident.

  • How is an ERA® Test done?

    An endometrial biopsy for ERA® testing is performed by one of our doctors. It is normally a pain-free step that takes about 10-15 minutes to complete without the need for anesthesia or recovery time. You will be able to return to your daily activities as normally.

    Depending on your individual circumstances, your doctor will determine the appropriate day of your menstrual cycle for the collection of the biopsy. That may be done either by a series of ultrasound transvaginal scans, or by a series of blood tests and hormonal level monitoring.

    The biopsy will be sent off immediately to the manufacturer’s laboratory for analysis and results of your endometrial receptivity status (pre-receptive, receptive or post-receptive) will be returned to us within 5-10 business days.

    A pre-receptive or post-receptive outcome will mean that your optimal endometrial receptivity does not coincide with the expected menstrual day, and in this case, we can modify your receptivity with some hormonal treatments.

  • How does an ERA® Test contribute in the success of ARTs?

    Currently, unsuccessful implantation accounts for 2/3 of failed assisted reproduction cases, and the more we know on this front, the more we will be able to improve your assisted reproduction experience and your chances of becoming pregnant. With the ERA® results, embryo transfer can be planned to happen at the most optimum day of your cycle, which will favor implantation and increase your prospect to conceive.

    Here in AAFC, we use the ERA® testing in conjunction with other diagnostic tests in order to bypass, persistent infertility, previous ART failure and repeated miscarriages, especially in women older than 37 years of age. Our specialist doctors can provide you with further information, consult you on all available options and offer you support when necessary.

    References

    * Ruiz-Alonso M, Blesa D, Simón C (2012). The genomics of the human endometrium. Biochim Biophys Acta.1822(12): 1931-42. (Pubmed; PMID: 22634130)

اختبار تقبل مجموعة بطانة الرحم

إن اختبار معدل قابلية الرحم وبطانته لزرع الجنين (ERA®) يعد اختبار تشخيصي متطور يُوصى به للنساء المصابات بالعقم ولهن تاريخ سابق من فقدان الحمل في مراحله المبكرة جدًا أو تعرضن لفشل متكرر لعملية الزرع بعد استخدام وسائل الإخصاب المساعد   (ART).

  • ما هو اختبار ERA®؟

    يُقيِّم اختبارERA® الرحم (بطانة الرحم) على المستوى الجزيئي لتحديد التوقيت الأمثل لزرع الجنين وهو في مراحله الأولى؛ وهذا عادةً ما يكون في اليوم رقم 19 - 21 من الدورة الشهرية (من 5-7 أيام بعد الإباضة)، ولكنه يمكن أن يختلف تبعًا لظروف كل شخص.

    واستعدادًا لوصول الجنين وهو في مراحله الأولى- تكبر بطانة الرحم وتنمو وتصبح أكثر سمكًا وتبلغ ذروتها في قابليتها لتعشيش أو زرع الجنين. وتُعرف هذه الأيام القليلة المُثلى لزرع الجنين باسم "نافذة الزرع". وإذا زُرع الجنين الأوليّ (مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية) بنجاح في هذه المرحلة، فإن بطانة الرحم المستقبلة ستُشكل المشيمة وسوف يتقدم الحمل؛ ومع ذلك، إذا لم يحدث الزرع، فإن بطانة الرحم المتجددة بدرجة كبيرة تنسلخ عازلةً نفسها خلال فترة المحيض وتبدأ دورتها من جديد.

    وهنا في مركز العين للإخصاب، نقوم بإجراء اختبارERA®لتحديد توقيت نافذة الزرع الرحمية لأننا نعرف من تجاربنا السابقة أن ذلك يشكل عاملاً حاسمًا ومهمًا في نجاحوسائل الإخصاب المساعد ART، وقد تم تقدير تقبل الرحم في الماضي بسلسلة من فحوصات المسح الضوئي عبر المهبل بالموجات فوق الصوتية؛ ولكن لأن بطانة الرحم يمكن أن تتأثر أحيانًا بالعلاجات الهرمونية للخصوبة، فإن اختبارERA®يعد أكثر موثوقية وحساسية لاختلاف الأفراد.

    ويشمل الاختبار التحليل الجزيئي لخزعة من بطانة الرحم قبل شهرمنالاستعانة بوسائل الإخصاب المساعد  ARTالمخطط لها. وعلى وجه التحديد يفحص اختبارERA® 238 علامة وراثية تتعلق بحالة تقبل بطانة الرحم* للزرع، وبتقييم مستوياتها نُحدد ما إذا كانت بطانة الرحم في مرحلة ما قبل التقبل أو مستعدة للتقبل أو في مرحلة ما بعد التقبل.

  • من اللاتي قد يحتجن إلى إجراء اختبار ERA®؟

    ينصح بشدة إجراء اختبارERA®للمرأة التي عانت سابقًا من فشل عملية الزرع بأجنة ذات نوعية جيدة.

    وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعتبر أيضًا النساء اللاتي يزيد سنهن عن 37 عامًا مرشحات جيدات لإجراء اختبارERA®وذلك لأن عمر الأم يمكن أن يسهم في خفض درجة تقبل الرحم لأستقبال الجنين، وذلك فضلاً عن حوادث الإجهاض التلقائي المبكر.

  • كيف يتم إجراء اختبار ERA®؟

    يقوم أحد أطبائنا بأخذ خزعة من بطانة الرحم لإجراء اختبار ERA®. علما بأن هذا الأجراء خال من الألم و يستغرق حوالي 10-15 دقيقة لإكمالها دون الحاجة للتخدير أو لوقت للإفاقة. وسوف تتمكنين من العودة إلى أنشطتك اليومية بشكل طبيعي.

    وتبعًا لظروفك الشخصية، سيحدد طبيبك يومًا مناسبًا من أيام دورتك الشهرية لجمع الخزعة. وهذا يمكن أن يتم إما عن طريق إجراء سلسلة من فحوصات المسح الضوئي عبر المهبل بالموجات فوق الصوتية، أو من خلال سلسلة من اختبارات الدم ورصد المستوى الهرموني ومراقبته.

    وسيتم إرسال الخزعة مباشرة إلى المختبر لتحليلها وسوف تعاد لنا نتائج حالة تقبل رحمك للزرع (سواء في مرحلة ما قبل التقبل أو في مرحلة ما بعد التقبل) في غضون 5-10 أيام عمل.

    وسوف تعني نتيجة مرحلة ما قبل التقبل أو في مرحلة ما بعد التقبل أن الوقت الأمثل لتقبل الرحم لديك لا يتزامن مع يوم الحيض المقدر، وفي هذه الحالة يمكننا تعديل درجة التقبل ببعض العلاجات الهرمونية.

  • كيف يساهم اختبار ERA® في نجاح وسائل التخصيب المساعد ART؟

    حاليا، تتحمل عمليات الزرع غير الناجحة 2/3 الحالات التي فشلت مساعدتها على الإنجاب، وكلما عرفنا أكثر عن هذا الجانب، أصبحنا قادرين أكثر على تحسين تجربتك في الاستعانة بتقنيات المساعدة للأنجاب وكذلك فرصك في الحمل. وفي ظل النتائج التي يظهرها اختبار ERA®، يمكن التخطيط لإجراء نقل الأجنة في اليوم الأكثر مناسبة وفعالية من دورتك الشهرية بما يعود بالمنفعة على عملية الزرع وزيادة احتمال حدوث الحمل.

     وهنا في مركز العين للإخصاب، نُجري اختبارERA® بالتزامن مع اختبارات تشخيصية أخرى لتجاوز العقم الدائم وتجنب فشل تقنيات المساعدة للانجابARTالسابقة وحوادث الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر، وخاصة في النساء اللاتي يتجاوز سنهن 37 عامًا. ويمكن للأطباء المتخصصين لدينا أن يوفروا لك المزيد من المعلومات، وينصحوك بما هو أفضل لك من جميع الخيارات المتاحة ويقدمون لك الدعم عند الضرورة.

    المراجع

    Ruiz-Alonso M, Blesa D, Simón C (2012). The genomics of the human endometrium. Biochim Biophys Acta.1822(12): 1931-42. (Pubmed; PMID: 22634130)