Implantation failure investigation

Implantation failure investigation takes place when a woman has experienced 3 or more unsuccessful attempts of In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF) with transfer of more than 8 good-quality embryos.

Implantation Failure

  • What is implantation failure?

    Implantation failure is when an embryo fails to embed itself in the lining of the womb (endometrium) following embryo transfer. It can also happen in natural cycles, when a conception occurs, but a pregnancy does not develop. Implantation failure in these cases can be suspected by a heavy period at the start of the following cycle, but most of the times, it happens without any symptoms at all.

    A negative pregnancy test, after numerous efforts to conceive and acostly in time, emotion and money fertility treatment is a devastating outcome. But, despite all medical and scientific developments in reproductive medicine and Assisted Reproduction Techniques (ARTs), 40-50% of treatment cycles do not lead to a successful pregnancy.

    So, as in natural conception under normal circumstances, whereembryosare not always able to become implanted in the womb,the same happens in IVF. Therefore, we cannot define an IVF attempt as ‘failed’ after only one or two trials. Experience has shown that after three IVF attempts, more than 80% of women under 35 years of age will be pregnant, but that will not be the case foraround 20% of them.In addition, some of these women will experience recurrent implantation failure.

  • What is recurrent implantation failure?

    We consider a recurrent implantation failure when a woman has experienced 3 or more unsuccessful attempts of IVF with transfer of more than 8 good-quality embryos.

    There are many reasons why implantation failure recurs, and in order to find them out and employ / devise treatments, we carry out investigations addressing maternal and paternal factors, as well as embryo investigations.

Investigations, treatments and solutions

  • Maternal Factors

    • Thrombophilia: A group of conditions that affect normal blood thickness leading to increased blood clotting. When these recur in a vascularized area of the lining of the womb, the result is a failed implantation. It can be detected with blood testing or specific genetic analyses and treated / ameliorated with medication. The main factors that we check to detect a thrombophilia include: anti-phospholipid syndrome, lupus anticoagulant, anti-cardiolipin Ab, Protein C and S deficiency, anti-thrombin III deficiency, MTHFR (or homocysteine), prothrombin G2021OA, and factor V Leiden.
    • Endometrial assessment:
      • The thickness of the endometrium is a crucial parameter for the conception of the early embryo. An endometrium thinner than 5 mm can be the reason for recurrent implantation failure. Endometrial receptivity, which is the most optimal timing for the womb to accept the early embryo, can be sometimes influenced by ovarian stimulation during a cycle of IVF. In cases that this effect is strong, the ‘implantation window’ can be completely altered causing implantation failure. Here in AAFC, to overcome this, we freeze the eggs following egg collection and prepare the endometrium with a pharmacological treatment. The IVF cycle can be resumed with thawing the eggs, fertilization and embryo transfer when the endometriumis ready.

      • The endometrial receptivity can also be affected by advanced maternal age, especially in women older than 37 years of age. To check endometrial receptivity for each of the above cases, we use a fully comprehensive genetic test, the Endometrial Receptivity Array (ERA®). Defining the ‘implantation window’ will help us to perform the embryo transfer at the right time for implantation to occur.

      • Other endometrial conditions, such as the presence of polyps or fibroids can also contribute to a failed implantation. These can be detected by hysteroscopy and, in the majority of cases, surgically corrected(surgical hysteroscopy, for instance).

      • In addition, we can employ assisted hatching, a laser-mediated method for weakening the embryo’s protective layer (zona pellucida). With this technique, the early embryo can easily implant itself in the endometrium.

    • Fallopian tube assessment: Anomalies or blockages to the tubes that link the ovaries to the uterus (fallopian tubes) can also lead to recurrent implantation failure. An examination of the fallopian tubes can be done with tubal patency testing, and depending on the condition, surgical correction and / or medication can be employed for treatment. For instance, as inhydrosalpinx(a condition characterized by blocked and filed-with-fluid fallopian tubes), which we usually treat by laparoscopy.
    • Immunology evaluation: It involves increased levels of natural killer cells and auto-antibodies that may be attacking and destroying the early embryo. Immunological causes can be detected with blood testing and treated or ameliorated with medication.
  • Paternal Factors

    • Genetic Integrity of Sperm:  Damage to the genetic material (DNA) of sperm can affect implantation of the early embryo in the womb. Sometimes, although the early embryo reaches the stage of 2-3 days or the blastocyst stage (5-6 days) in culture and has a good-quality appearance, its further development in the womb ceases, and implantation fails. DNA fragmentation testing can help with such diagnosis.
    • Chromosomal Integrity of Sperm: Chromosomal abnormalities due to a neuploidy (loss of one or more chromosomes) can also affect embryo survival and therefore, implantation after embryo transfer. This possibility can be detected with a FISH test on sperm.When chromosomal abnormalities are found in sperm, then it is necessary to test genetically the embryos before the embryo transfer with Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) and / or Preimplanation Genetic Screening (PGS).
  • Embryo Quality

    • Early embryo assessment: Observable subtle changes during embryo development, from the first cell division of the egg-sperm hybrid cell to the 2-3-stage embryo or through to the blastocyst stage(5-6 days), can be recorded and carefully examined with the use of the EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging.
    • Genetic screening: This is really important for finding hereditary or impossible-to-observe chromosomal abnormalities in prospective embryos. A chromosomally abnormal embryo is less likely to implant. PGD and / or PGS performed by our partner laboratories in Reprogenetics can be used for this purpose.

    Transfer of the best-quality chromosomally normal embryoswill offer the best chances of implantation.

Implantation Failure Investigation Contribution

  • How does implantation failure investigation contribute in the success of ARTs?

    The above comprehensive investigations can lead to answers and reasons behind repeated implantation failure, as well as to effective treatments and / or use of an alternative more suited ART, before another round of assisted reproduction is employed.

    However, independent of the cause(s) found, recurrent implantation failure is still possible and we cannot guarantee success even after the most comprehensive investigation and treatment. Recurrent implantation failure may be happening due to any of the above reasons, a combination of them, or none (unknown factors). If the latter is the case, then offering a solution and / or treatment is not easy. Recurrent implantation failure can be easily faced if the underlying reason is a treatable thrombophilia, for instance, but it can become a real challenge when the reason is not obvious.

    Here in AAFC, we perform all possible investigations in order to solve recurrent implantation failure. Also, as current methods and techniques progress, our understanding improves and more solutions or treatments may become available in the future. Our specialist doctors can provide you with further information, consult you on all applicable options and offer you support when necessary.

فحص فشل الزرع

يتم إجراء فحص فشل زرع الأجنة عندما تقوم سيدة بثلاث محاولات فاشلة أو أكثر في عملية أطفال الأنابيب (IVF) مع نقل أكثر من ثمانية أجنة ذات جودة عالية.

فشل زرع الأجنة

  • ماذا يعني فشل زرع الأجنة؟

    يحدث فشل زرع الأجنة عندما يفشل جنين في وضع نفسه في بطانة الرحم (غشاء بطانة الرحم) بعد نقل الأجنة. كما يمكن أن يحدث ذلك الفشل في دورات الإخصاب الطبيعية، عند حدوث الحمل، ولكن يبقي الحمل على وضعه بدون تطور. يمكن الاشتباه في فشل زرع الأجنة في هذه الحالات على أنه طَمْث شديد في بداية الدورة الشهرية التالية، ولكن يحدث الفشل في معظم الأوقات دون حدوث أي أعراض على الإطلاق.

    إن اختبار الحمل السالب يعتبر نتيجة مروعة ومدمرة للبعض خصوصًا بعد الجهود الكثيرة المبذولة للحمل والتي تعتبر مكلفة في الوقت والتأثير النفسي والمال. ولكن بالرغم من كل التطورات الطبية والعلمية في مجال الطب التناسلي وسائل الإخصاب المساعد (ARTs)، لا تؤدي 40-50٪ من دورات العلاج إلى نجاح الحمل.

    ولذلك، كما هو الحال في الحمل الطبيعي في ظل الظروف العادية، حيث تكون الأجنة غير قادرة على الانغراس في الرحم دائمًا، ويحدث نفس الشيء في التَّخصيب داخل المختبر(IVF). ولذلك، فإننا لا نستطيع اعتبار محاولة التَّخصيب داخل المختبر(IVF) 'فاشلة' إلا بعد إجراء محاولة أو محاولتين. وقد أظهرت التجربة أنه بعد ثلاث محاولات تخصيب داخل المختبر(IVF)، فإن أكثر من 80٪ من السيدات اللاتي يقل عمرهن عن 35 سنة سيصبحون حوامل، ولكن ذلك لن يكون هو الحال بالنسبة لحوالي 20٪ منهن. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيتعرض بعض من هؤلاء السيدات للفشل المتكرر في زراعة الأجنة.

  • ماذا يعني فشل زراعة الأجنة المتكرر؟

    نحن نعتبرها حالة فشل زراعة الأجنة عندما تتعرض سيدة لثلاث محاولات فاشلة أو أكثر في التَّخصيب داخل المختبر (IVF) مع نقل أكثر من ثمانية أجنة ذات جودة عالية.

    هناك العديد من الأسباب لتكرر فشل زراع الأجنة، ونحن نقوم بإجراء الفحوصات الخاصة بعوامل الأم والأب المؤثرة وكذلك فحوصات الجنين من أجل التعرف على هذه الأسباب وتحديدها ووضع علاجات لها.

الفحوصات والعلاجات والحلول

  • عوامل الأم المؤثرة

    • احتمالية تجلط الدمتوجد مجموعة من الحالات التي تؤثر على سماكة الدم العادية مما تؤدي إلى زيادة تجلط الدم. عندما تتكرر هذه الحالات في منطقة أوعية دموية من بطانة الرحم، فإن نتيجة ذلك تتمثل في فشل زراع الأجنة. ويمكن الكشف عن ذلك عن طريق إجراء فحص الدم أو عمل بعض التحاليل الوراثية من أجل معالجتها/تحسينها بالدواء. تشتمل العوامل الرئيسية التي نتحقق منها من أجل الكشف عن إحتمالية الإصابة بتجلط الدم ما يلي: متلازمة مضادة الفوسفورية، مانع التخثر الخاص بالذئبة، مضاد الكارديوليبين AP، خلل في بروتين C وS، خلل مضاد لثروببين III، مختزلة الميثيلين تتراهيدروفولات (أو الحمض الأميني)، بروثرومبين G2021OA، وعامل لايدن

    • تقييم بطانة الرحم

      • إن سمك بطانة الرحم معامل مهم بالنسبة لحمل الجنين الأولي. ويمكن أن تكون بطانة الرحم الأرق بـ 5 ملم هي السبب وراء فشل زراعة الأجنة المتكرر. يمكن أن تتأثر درجة تقبل الرحم للأجنة- حيث يعتبر التوقيت الأمثل الذي يستقبل فيه الرحم الجنين في مرحلة مبكرة - في بعض الأحيان بتحفيز المبيض خلال دورة التَّخصيب داخل المختبر(IVF). وفي الحالات التي يكون فيها هذا التأثير قوي، يمكن أن تتغير "فتحة الانغراس" بشكل تام مما يتسبب في حدوث فشل زراعة الأجنة. ونحن هنا في مركز العين للإخصاب، نقوم بتجميد البويضات بعد جمعها وتجهيز بطانة الرحم لاستقبالها بالعلاج الدوائي من أجل التغلب على هذه المشكلة. ويمكن استئناف دورة التَّخصيب داخل المختبر (IVF) عن طريق إذابة البويضة وإجراء الإخصاب ونقل الأجنة عندما تكون بطانة الرحم جاهزة. 
      • ويمكن أيضًا أن يتأثر تقبل الرحم للجنين بعمر الأم المتقدم، وخاصة في السيدات اللاتي يزيد عمرهن عن 37 سنة. وللتحقق من تقبل الرحم للجنين لكل حالة من الحالات المذكورة أعلاه، فإننا نقوم باستخدام الاختبار الجيني الشامل بالكامل وفحص تقبل بطانة الرحم للجنين(ERA®). سوف يساعد تحديد "فتحة الانغراس" على إجراء نقل الأجنة في الوقت المناسب للقيام بعملية الزرع.
      • يمكن أن تساهم أيضًا حالات بطانة الرحم الأخرى، مثل وجود الزوائد اللحمية أو الأورام الليفية، في حدوث فشل زراعة الأجنة. ويمكن الكشف عن هذه الحالات عن طريق عمل منظار داخل الرحم، وفي معظم الحالات، يتم علاج ذلك بشكل صحيح عن طريق التدخل الجراحي (على سبيل المثال المنظار الجارحي داخل الرحم
      • وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكننا استخدام ثقب جدار الأجنة المساعد وهي عبارة عن طريقة يستخدم فيها الليزر لإضعاف طبقة الجنين الواقية (المنطقة الشفافة). ويمكن للجنين في مرحلة مبكرة من خلال هذه التقنية أن يقوم بلصق نفسه بسهولة في بطانة الرحم.
    • تقييم قناة فالوب: يمكن أن يؤدي أيضًا انحراف أو انسداد الأنابيب التي تربط المبيض بالرحم (قناة فالوب) إلى فشل زراعة الأجنة المتكرر. ويمكن أن يتم فحص قناتي فالوب من خلال اختبار الكشف الأنبوبي، ويمكن الاستعانة بالتدخل الجراحي التصحيحي و/أو العلاج بالدواء بناءً على نوع الحالة. وعلى سبيل المثال، كما هو الحال في اسنداد البُوق (وهي حالة تكون فيها قناة فالوب مسدودة ومملوءة بالسوائل)، ونقوم عادةً بمعالجتها عن طريق منظار البطن.
    • تقييم المناعة: يشمل مستويات متزايدة من الخلايا القاتلة الطبيعية والأجسام المضادة الذاتية التي يمكن أن تهاجم الجنين وهو في مراحله الأولى وتقضي عليه. ويمكن الكشف عن الأسباب المناعية عن طريق فحص الدم ومن ثم علاجها أو التخفيف من حدتها عن طريق الدواء.
  • عوامل الأب المؤثرة

    • سلامة الحيوانات المنوية الوراثية:  يمكن أن تؤثر الأضرار التي تلحق بالمادة الوراثية (DNA) للحيوانات المنوية على زراعة الأجنة في مرحلة مبكرة داخل الرحم. في بعض الأحيان، على الرغم من أن الجنين في وقت مبكرة يصل إلى مرحلة 2-3 يوم أو مرحلة الكيسة الأرومية (5-6 أيام) في المزرعة الحاوية ولها مظهر نوعية جيد، إلا أن تطوره التالي في الرحم قد توقف وفشلت عملية زراعة الجنين. ويمكن أن يساعد اختبار الحمض النووي مع هذا التشخيص.
    • سلامة الحيوانات المنوية الكروموسومية: يمكن أن تؤثر عيوب الكروموسومات بسبب عدم توازن الصبغيات (فقدان واحد أو أكثر من الكروموسومات) أيضًا على بقاء الجنين على قيد الحياة وبالتالي إجراء عملية الزراعة بعد نقل الجنين. ويمكن الكشف عن هذا الاحتمال عن طريق إجراء اختبار فلورية التهجين الموضعي على الحيوانات المنوية. وعندما يتم الكشف عن وجود عيوب بالكروموسومات في الحيوانات المنوية، فمن الضروري اختبار الأجنة وراثيًا قبل نقل الأجنة مع تشخيص جيني لزراعة أجنة سابقة (PGD) و/أو فحص جيني لزراعة أجنة سابقة (PGS).
  • حالة الجنين

    • تقييم الجنين في وقت مبكر: يمكن تسجيل التغييرات الطفيفة التي يتم ملاحظتها أثناء تطور الجنين، من انقسام الخلايا الأول من الخلية المختلطة للبويضة والحيوان المنوي إلى الجنين في عمر 2-3 يوم أو عن طريق مرحلة الكيسة الأرومية (5-6 أيام)، وفحصها بعناية باستخدام التصوير المتتابع لكل مراحل تطول الجنين بجهاز EmbryoScope®.
    • الفحص الجيني:  يعتبر هذا الفحص مهم حقًا للتعرف على عيوب الكروموسومات الوراثية أو التي يصعب ملاحظتها في الأجنة المحتملين. ومن المحتمل بشكل قليل زراعة الأجنة غير الطبيعية من الناحية الصبغية. ويمكن الاستعانة بالمختبرات الشريكة لنا في ريبروجينيتكس لإجراء تشخيص جيني لزراعة أجنة سابقة (PGD) و/أو فحص جيني لزراعة أجنة سابقة (PGS).

    سيوفر نقل أجنة طبيعية بحالة جيدة من الناحية من الصبغية أفضل الفرص لزراعة الأجنة.

فحص فشل زرع الأجنة

  • كيف يساهم فحص فشل زراعة الأجنة في نجاح وسائل الإخصاب المساعد (ARTs)؟

    يمكن أن تؤدي الفحوصات الشاملة المذكورة أعلاه إلى معرفة الإجابات والأسباب الكامنة وراء فشل زراعة الأجنة المتكرر، وكذلك استخدام العلاجات الفعالة و/أو وسيلة الإنجاب المساعدة البديلة الأكثر ملائمة، قبل إجراء دورة أخرى من الإنجاب باستخدام التقنيات.

    ومع ذلك، بغض النظر عن السبب (الأسباب) المكتشفة، ما يزال فشل زراعة الأجنة المتكرر ممكنًا، ونحن لا يمكننا أن نضمن النجاح حتى بعد انتهاء الفحص والمعالجة الشاملة. يمكن أن يرجع فشل زراعة الأجنة المتكرر إلى أي سبب من الأسباب المذكورة أعلاه أو مجموعة منها أو لأي شيء آخر (عوامل غير معروفة). وإذا كان هذا الفشل راجع إلى سبب غير معروف، فان تقديم الحلول و/أو العلاج ليس بالأمر السهل. يمكن معالجة فشل زراعة الأجنة المتكرر بسهولة إذا كان السبب الأساسي هو تجلط الدم القابل للعلاج، فعلى سبيل المثال، يمكن أن يُصبح ذلك تحديًا حقيقيًا عندما يكون السبب غير واضح.

    ونحن هنا في مركز العين للإخصاب، نقوم بإجراء جميع الفحوصات الممكنة من أجل حل فشل زراعة الأجنة المتكرر. ويمكن أيضًا من خلال التقدم المُحرز في الأساليب والتقنيات الحالية الوصول إلى تفسير أفضل وإلى حلول أو علاجات أكثر في المستقبل. يمكن للأطباء المتخصصين لدينا أن يقدموا لك المزيد من المعلومات والتشاور معك حول كل الخيارات المحتملة وأن يقدموا لك الدعم عند الضرورة.