Inmunology investigation

In AAFC, we recommend immunology evaluation to some couples that have been facing unexplained infertility, implantation failure and repeated miscarriages, while all other parameters of their fertility have been normal.

  • What an immunology evaluation tell us?

    An immunology evaluation is achieved through assessment of the immune system during a couple’s pre-conception period or early pregnancy with a series of comprehensive blood testing or specialized semen analysis.

    The role of the immune system during reproduction has been a much-debated subject among specialist doctors and embryologists. Here at AAFC, we like to be thorough and explore all possibilities when assessing cases of unexplained infertility, implantation failure and repeated miscarriages. Therefore, we evaluate your immune system,when all other reasons for IVF failure have been ruled out.

    In cases of adverse reproductive immunity, it is believed that your body develops antibodies that may be rejecting your partner’s sperms by treating them as invaders, or foreign entities, within your system. These are known as anti-sperm antibodies and their action can be easily overcome by the use of IVF with Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI).

    In other adverse immunity situations, you may have developed auto-antibodies (antibody against self, as it happen in auto-immune diseases, for instance) that may attack your early embryo as a foreign body.

    In men with a small number of sperms in their semen (oligospermia), there may be a similar auto-immune condition, where they develop auto-antibodies against their own sperm cells (anti-sperm auto-antibodies).

    These attacks on sperm or early embryo can be due to excessive action from your immune system’s natural killer cells, which, under normal circumstances, help the body to fight an infection. As a part of an immunology evaluation, we may assess the levels of natural killer cells in your blood, and if these are higher than normal, then one of the above adverse immunity scenarios may be taking place.

    In these cases, we offer a pharmacological course aimed in lowering or suppressing the activity and levels of natural killer cells. Depending on your immunological assessment, your health and fertility history, we will prescribe you with a suitable treatment for this purpose.

  • Who may need an immunology evaluation?

    This evaluation is recommended to couples with long unexplained infertility, recurrent miscarriages after a natural or assisted conception, and when all other known contributing factors have been ruled out.

    Anti-sperm antibody evaluation is also recommended to men that have few sperms in their semen (oligospermia), especially if they have undergone a vasectomy reversal. In vasectomy, sperms continue to be produced, but they become trapped in the testes. The body, in order to clear the accumulating sperms, resorts in developing anti-sperm auto-antibodies for their destruction. When the vasectomy is reversed, these auto-antibodies continue to attack the freshly-produced sperms in the testes, resulting in oligospermia.

  • How is an immunology evaluation done?

    For an immunology evaluation test you will need to attend our clinic in AAFC for providing a blood or semen sample, depending on the test.

    A full analysis of the immune components of your blood or semen will be performed in our collaborator’s laboratory, The Doctors Laboratory (TDL) in the UK, which is widely recognized for being experts in reproductive immunology evaluation.

    After we receive your immunology evaluation report from TDL, we will arrange a follow-up consultation, where we will discuss with you your results, potential options and treatments.

  • What can an immunology evaluation tell us about the success of an assisted reproductive technique?

    To date there is no conclusive evidence about the role of anti-sperm antibodies / auto-antibodies, maternal auto-antibodies or natural killer cells during reproduction. Additionally, there is a real mix of reported outcomes after treatment for adverse reproductive immunity, which is not helped by the extensive variation of individual circumstances and other possible underlying causes of infertility.

    If you are found to have increased levels of natural killer cells in your blood, and have experienced unexplained infertility and / or repeated miscarriages, then receiving treatment for this condition can offer you an extra chance of achieving your desired outcome.

    We understand that undergoing a situation like this can be very stressful and emotional. Here at AAFC, we are prepared to offer you as much help and support as you may need, while continue looking and researching for the best and latest techniques and technologies that can help you and your spouse to have a family.

فحص المناعة

نوصي في مركز العين للإخصاب (AAFC) بإجراء تقييم المناعة لبعض الأزواج الذين قد عانوا من العقم غير المفسر وفشل زراعة الأجنة والإجهاض المتكرر، في حين أن جميع فحوصات الإخصاب الأخرى كانت طبيعية.

  • ما الذي يضيفه لنا تقييم المناعة؟

    يتم إجراء تقدير حالة المناعة من خلال تقييم نظام المناعة خلال فترة ما قبل الحمل للزوجين أو الحمل المبكر مع سلسلة من اختبار الدم الشامل أو تحليل متخصص للسائل المنوي.

    وقد كان دور جهاز المناعة خلال الإِنْجَاب موضوعًا مثيرًا للجدل بشكل كبير بين الأطباء المختصين وعلماء علم الأجنة. ونحن هنا في مركز العين للإخصاب (AAFC)، نرغب في أن يكون ذلك شاملاً ونرغب في استكشاف كل الاحتمالات عند تقييم حالات العقم غير المفسر وفشل زراعة الأجنة والإجهاض المتكرر. ولذلك، فإننا نُقيم الجهاز المناعي، عندما يتم استبعاد كل الأسباب الأخرى لفشل عمليات التَّخصيب داخل المختبر(IVF).

    وفي حالات المناعة الإنجابية السلبية، فإننا نعتقد أن الجسم يُخرج أجسام مضادة قد تقوم برفض حيوانات زوجكِ المنوية من خلال التعامل معها على أنها أجسام مهاجمة أو أجسام غريبة داخل جهاز الجسم لديكِ. وتعرف هذه الاجسام المضادة باسم الأجسام المضادة للحيوانات المنوية ويمكن التغلب على تأثيرها بسهولة عن طريق استخدام التَّخصيب داخل المختبر(IVF) بحقن الحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي خلية البويضة (ICSI).

    وفي حالات المناعة السلبية الأخرى، قد يُخرج الجسم أجسام مضادة ذاتية (جسم مضاد ضد نفسه، على سبيل المثال، كما يحدث في أمراض المناعة الذاتية) وقد تهاجم الجنين الأولي لديكِ على أنه جسم غريب.

    وفي الرجال الذين يعانون من قلة عدد الحيوانات المنوية في السائل المنوي (قلة الحيوانات المنوية)، قد يكون هناك حالة مماثلة للمناعة الذاتية، حيث تتطور أجسام مضادة ذاتية تهاجم خلايا حيواناتهم المنوية (الأجسام المضادة الذاتية المهاجمة للحيوانات المنوية).

    ويمكن أن تكون هذه الهجمات على الحيوانات المنوية أو الجنين الأولي بسبب العمل الزائد من خلايا الحماية الطبيعية الخاصة بجهازكِ المناعي، والتي قد تساعد الجسم، في ظل الظروف العادية، على محاربة الإصابة بحالات العدوى. وكجزء من تقييم المناعة، قد نقوم بتقييم مستويات خلايا الحماية الطبيعية في الدم لديكِ، وإذا كانت هذه المستويات أعلى من المعتاد، فمن ثم يتم الاستعانة بأحد سيناريوهات المناعة السلبية المذكورة أعلاه.

    وفي هذه الحالات، فنحن نقدم مسار علاجي دوائي يهدف إلى تقليل أو تثبيط هذا النشاط ومستويات خلايا الحماية الطبيعية. وبناءً على التقييم المناعي لكِ والصحة وتاريخ خصوبتكِ، سنقوم بوصف العلاج المناسب لهذا الغرض.

  • من التي قد تحتاج إلى إجراء تقييم المناعة؟

    يُوصى بإجراء هذا التقييم من قبل الأزواج الذين يعانون من العقم غير المبرر لفترة طويلة والإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر بعد الحمل الطبيعي أو الحمل بوسائل مساعدة، وعندما يتم استبعاد كل العوامل المعنية الأخرى المعروفة.

    يُوصى بإجراء تقييم الأجسام المضادة المهاجمة للحيوانات المنوية من قبل الرجال الذين لديهم عدد قليل من الحيوانات المنوية في السائل المنوي (قلة الحيوانات المنوية)، وعلى وجه الخصوص إذا خضعوا لعملية تغيير مسار القناة المنوية. في عملية قطع القناة المنوية، يستمر إنتاج الحيوانات المنوية، ولكنها تبقي منحصرة في الخصيتين. ويلج الجسم، من أجل التخلص من الحيوانات المنوية المتراكمة، إلى الاستعانة بالأجسام المضادة الذاتية المهاجمة للحيوانات المنوية للتخلص منها. وعندما يتم عكس مسار القناة المنوية، تستمر هذه الأجسام المضادة الذاتية في مهاجمة الحيوانات المنوية المُنتَجة حديثًا في الخصيتين، مما يؤدي إلى قلة الحيوانات المنوية.

  • كيف يتم إجراء تقييم المناعة؟

    بالنسبة لاختبار تقييم المناعة، فسيتطلب منك الحضور إلى عيادتنا في مركز العين للإخصاب (AAFC) لتقديم عينة من الدم أو المني بناءً على نوع الاختبار.

    سيتم إجراء تحليل كامل لمكونات جهاز المناعة من خلال الدم أو السائل المنوي في المختبرات التي تتعاون معنا أو في مختبرات الأطباء (TDL) في المملكة المتحدة، المعترف بهم على نطاق واسع لكونهم خبراء في تقييم المناعة التناسلي.

    وبعد أن نتلقى تقرير تقييم المناعة الخاص بك من مختبرات الاطباء (TDL)، فسوف نقوم بترتيب استشارة متابعة، حيث أننا سنناقش معك النتائج والخيارات والعلاجات المحتملة الخاصة بك.

  • ما الذي يمكن أن يضيفه لنا تقييم المناعة الخاص بنجاح تقنية الإنجاب المساعدة؟

    لا توجد أدلة قاطعة حتى الآن حول دور الأجسام المضادة/الأجسام المضادة الذاتية المهاجمة للحيوانات المنوية، الأجسام المضادة الأمومية أو خلايا الحماية الطبيعية خلال الإنجاب. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك مزيج حقيقي من النتائج المسجلة بعد علاج المناعة الإنجابية السلبية، وهو لا يعتبر مساعدًا نظرًا للاختلاف الكبير للظروف الفردية والأسباب الكامنة المحتملة الأخرى للعقم.

    إذا وجدت أن هناك زيادة في مستويات خلايا الحماية الطبيعية في الدم لديكِ وقد عانيتِ من عقم غير مبرر و/أو إجهاض متكرر، فإن تلقي علاج لهذه الحالة يمكن أن يقدم لكِ فرصة إضافية لتحقيق النتيجة التي تريدها.

    ونحن نتفهم أن تحمل مثل هذة الحالة يمكن أن يكون مرهقًا جدًا ومثيرًا للعواطف. فنحن هنا في مركز العين للإخصاب مستعدون لأن نقدم لكم أكبر قدر من المساعدة والدعم التي تحتاجونها، وعلى الجانب الآخر نواصل العمل والبحث عن أفضل وأحدث التقنيات والتكنولوجيات التي يمكن تساعدكِ أنتِ وزوجكِ على الإنجاب من أجل تكوين أسرة.