Recurrent miscarriage investigation

Recurrent miscarriage investigation takes place after 2 or more spontaneous and consecutive pregnancy losses.

  • What is recurrent miscarriage and why do we investigate its cause(s)?

    Loss of a pregnancy at up to 20 weeks of gestation, for more than 2 times, is the clinical definition of recurrent miscarriage. Traditionally, it has been defined as 3 or more pregnancy losses, but advanced knowledge and experience among practitioners has shown that 2 such events provide enough evidence for suspecting an underlying common cause.

    Miscarriage is the most devastating pregnancy complication, and knowing what may have caused it can help us to prevent it in a future attempt. There is a close link between infertility, failed In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF), pregnancy complications and miscarriage. Whilst the majority of these cases are the result of a random genetic defect in the embryo (due to chromosomal abnormalities), there are additional underlying causes that we can detect and treat.

  • What are the most common causes or risks of recurrent miscarriage and what investigation(s) do we perform?

    • Chromosomal abnormalities: A normal embryo has 46 chromosomes. Any abnormality in the number of chromosomes usually makes the embryo unable to survive and a miscarriage occurs. In these cases, the embryo may have more chromosomes, like in Down syndrome, where there is an extra chromosome 21 (47, XY, +21) or less chromosomes, like in Turner syndrome, where a chromosome X is missing (45X). Other abnormalities that can also take place include chromosomal translocation orinversion, for instance.
    • Uterine anomalies: Many uterine anomalies can be the reason for recurrent miscarriage. Most common are the presence of auterine septum or abicornuate uterus. They can be diagnosed by hysteroscopy, and some of them can be corrected with surgical hysteroscopy.
    • Intra-uterine adhesions (Asherman’s syndrome): Intra-uterine adhesions are remnants of scar tissue that make the uterus’ interior walls to stick to one another. They can be diagnosed and solved by hysteroscopy / surgical hysteroscopy.
    • Endometrial polyps: They are small non-cancerous masses in the lining of the womb. They can be diagnosed by hysteroscopy or ultrasound transvaginal scan, and they are easily excised by surgical hysteroscopy.
    • Submucosal fibroids: They are non-cancerous growths in the muscular wall of the uterus, that protrude into the uterine cavity.They can be diagnosed and excised by surgical hysteroscopy.
    • Thrombophilia(inherited or acquired): A group of conditions that can severely affect blood circulation during pregnancy. In these cases, the blood has an increased tendency to clot and during placenta formation, it affects normal blood circulation to the embryo causing miscarriage. Cases of thrombophilia can be detected with blood testing and specific genetic analyses. Some of the types of thrombophilia are Leiden factor V gene mutation, prothrombin gene mutation (G20210A), anti-phospholipid syndrome, deficit of proteins C and S and anti-thrombin III deficiency.
    • Metabolic and hormone factors: Diseases like diabetes and hypothyroidism (endocrine diseases), for instance, when they are not controlled, can be the reason for recurrent pregnancy loss.
    • Luteal phase defect: It is a condition in which the production of the hormone progesterone is not sustained after ovulation and implantation of the embryo.
    • Infections: Micro organisms like Ureaplasma urealyticum, mycoplasma, chlamydia or Listeria monocytogenes, and viruses like Parvo virus, Rubella, cytomegalo virus orherpes can be the origin of a recurrent miscarriage.
    • Sperm abnormalities: Abnormalities in the number of chromosomes contained in the sperms are responsible for 5-10% of all chromosomal abnormalities in the embryo. These abnormalities can be detected with a FISH on sperm. Currently, there are contradictory data regarding a causal effect between pregnancy loss and sperm DNA fragmentation in IVF cycles. Never the less, it can be the reason for repeated miscarriages in certain cases.
    • Lifestyle and environmental factors: They include cigarette smoking, alcohol and drug consumption, bad diet or exposure to chemicals and pollutants. For instance,increased caffeine(more than 3 cups a day) has been linked to a higher risk of miscarriage. These lifestyle and environmental factors can be found by history-taking information and can be managed, corrected and / or avoided.
    • Immune factors: Many immune analyses have been used to determine the influence of the immune system in recurrent pregnancy loss (studies of human leukocyte antigen (HLA) typing, embryo-toxic factors, blocking or anti-paternal antibody levels and natural killer cells among others). These studies have produced inconsistent data that generally have not been replicated among laboratories. However, here at AAFC, we continue looking and researching for the best and latest techniques and technologies that can help overcome recurrent miscarriage. We perform immunology evaluation and offer treatment, if feasible and available, when everything else has been found normal.
    • Poly-Cystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS): It is characterized by the presence of cysts in the ovaries and hormonal imbalance. It can be diagnosed by ultrasound scan and blood testing. Women with PCOS have a higher risk of experiencing a miscarriage.
    • No apparent cause: After a comprehensive evaluation, a ‘no apparent causative factor’ can be found in about 30-40% of all couples having recurrent pregnancy loss. It is important to note that, despite this, the chance for a future successful pregnancy can exceed 50-60%, depending on maternal age and parity.
  • How does recurrent miscarriage investigation contribute in achieving a pregnancy followed by live birth?

    If a uterine abnormality is found, corrective surgery may be able to solve the problem. For most of the above mentioned conditions from polycystic ovary syndrome to diabetes, there are treatments or strategies that can ameliorate or treat the symptoms. For instance, if chromosomal abnormalities are found to be the reason for repeated miscarriages, then IVF and embryo selection with Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) and / or Preimplantation Genetic Screening (PGS) will be the way forward. Your doctor will advise how your case can be managed, after having a complete evaluation.

    However, recurrent miscarriage investigation may not be able to find the reason behind pregnancy loss (no apparent cause). There are various other treatments and options for these cases, but without real guarantees that they can tackle undetected causality. Repeated miscarriage can be easily faced if the underlying reason is hypothyroidism, for instance, but it can become a real challenge when it cannot be explained.

    We have seen that close supervision with regular scans and appropriate reassurance throughout a new pregnancy after a previous miscarriage can truly help from a psychological point of view, and lead to a live birth. In any case, despite a recurrent miscarriage history, a woman has a 60-80% chance of conceiving and having a healthy baby.

    Here in AAFC, we perform all possible investigations in order to bypass repeated miscarriages. Our specialist doctors can provide you with further information and consult you on all available / applicable options when necessary.

فحص الإجهاض التلقائي

يتم إجراء فحوصات الإجهاض المتكرر بعد مرتين أو أكثر من فقدان الحمل المتكرر والمتوالي.

  • ماهو الإجهاض المتكرر ولماذا نتحقق من أسبابه؟

    فقدان الحمل عندما تصل مدته إلى 20 أسبوعًا مع حدوث ذلك أكثر من مرتين هو التعريف الإكلينيكي للإجهاض المتكرر. وعادةً ما كان يتم تعريفه في السابق بأنه فقدان الحمل 3 مرات أو أكثر, ولكن أظهرت المعرفة المتقدمة والخبرة بين الممارسين أن 2 من هذه الحوادث تعطي دليلاً كافيًا على الاشتباه في الحالة العامة المستبطنة.

    الإجهاض التلقائي هو أكثر مضاعفات الحمل تدميرًا ومعرفة سبب حدوثه يمكن أن يساعدنا على منعه في أي محاولة مستقبلية. وهناك ارتباط وثيق بين العقم وفشل عملية أطفال الأنابيب ومضاعفات الحمل والإجهاض التلقائي. في حين أن معظم هذه الحالات هي نتيجة لخلل جيني عشوائي في الجنين (نتيجة لاضطرابات صبغية), وهناك أسباب أخرى كامنة وراءه يمكننا اكتشافها ومعالجتها.

  • ماهي أسباب الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر ومخاطره الأكثر شيوعًا وما هو الفحص (الفحوصات) التي نقوم بها؟

    • الاضطرابات الصبغية: الجنين الطبيعي لديه 48 صبغًيا (كروموسوم). أي خلل في عدد الكروموسومات عادةً ما يجعل الجنين غير قادر على البقاء على قيد الحياة فيحدث الإجهاض التلقائي. وفي هذه الحالات قد يكون لدى الجنين عددًا أكبر من الكروموسومات كما في متلازمة داون حيث يوجد عدد زائد من الكروموسومات الإضافية 21 (47, XY, +21) أو عدد أقل من الكروموسومات مثل متلازمة تيرنر, حيث نجد أن كروموسوم X مفتقد (45X). وتشمل الاضطرابات الأخرى التي يمكن أن تحدث على سبيل المثال  التبدلات الصبغية أو الانقلاب الصبغي.
    • التشوهات الرحمية: يمكن للعديد من التشوهات الرحمية أن تكون السبب في الإجهاض التلقائي. والتشوهات الأكثر شيوعا هي وجود الحاجز الرحمي أو الرحم ذو القرنين. ويمكن تشخيصها عن طريق تنظير الرحم وبعضها يمكن تصحيحه بالتنظير الرحمي الجراحي.
    • الالتصاقات داخل الرحم (متلازمة أشرمان): الالتصاقات داخل الرحم هي بواقي النسيج الندبي التي تجعل الجدران الداخلية للرحم ملتصقة ببعضها. ويمكن تشخيص هذه المشكلة وحلها عن طريق التنظير الرحمي/التنظير الرحمي الجراحي.
    • الزوائد اللحمية في الغشاء المبطن للرحم: هي تكتلات صغيرة غير سرطانية في بطانة الرحم. ويمكن تشخيصها عن طريق تنظير الرحم أو مسح إشعاعي خلال المهبل بالموجات فوق الصوتية كما يمكن استئصالها بسهولة عن طريق جراحة تجويف الرحم بالمنظار.
    • الأورام الليفية تحت المخاطية: وهي أورام غير سرطانية في الجدار العضلي للرحم والتي تبرز في تجويف الرحم. ويمكن تشخيصها واستئصالها عن طريق التنظير الرحمي الجراحي.
    • قابلية التخثر (الموروثة أو المكتسبة): مجموعة من الحالات التي يمكن أن تؤثر بشدة على الدورة الدموية اثناء الحمل. في هذه الحالات يكون الدم لديه ميلا متزايدًا للتجلط وأثناء تكون المشيمة يؤثر على الدورة الدموية للجنين مسببا الإجهاض التلقائي. ويمكن الكشف عن حالات أهبة التخثر عن طريق فحص الدم وبعض التحاليل الوراثية المحددة. ومن بعض أنواع أهبة التخثر طفرة مورثة العامل الخامس, طفرة مورثة البروثرومبين (G20210A) ومتلازمة أضداد الفسفولويبيد. ونقص البروتينات C وS ونقص مضاد الثرومبين الثالث.
    • العوامل الأيضية والهرمونية: الأمراض مثل السكري والغدة الدرقية (أمراض الغدد الصماء), على سبيل المثال عندما لا يتم السيطرة عليها يمكن أن تكون السبب في فقدان الحمل .
    • خلل الطور الأصفري: وهو الحالة التي لا يستمر فيها إنتاج هرمون البروجسترون بشكل مستديم بعد التبويض وزرع الجنين.
    • الالتهابات: الكائنات الدقيقة مثل المُيَوِّرَةُ الحالَّةُ لليُوريا (جنس من الجراثيم)، الميكوبلازما، الكلاميديا أو الليستريا المستوحدة، والفيروسات مثل الحطيطة، الحصبة الألمانية، الفيروس المضخم للخلايا أو الهربس والذين يمكن أن يكونوا جميعًا منشأ الإجهاض التلقائي.
    • تشوهات الحيوانات المنوية: الشذوذ في عدد الكروموسومات الموجودة في الحيوانات المنوية هو المسؤول عن 5-10% من إجمالي الاضرابات الصبغية في الجنين. ويمكن الكشف عن هذه التشوهات عن طريق التهجين الموضعي المتألقFISH  على الحيوانات المنوية. وحاليًا هناك بيانات متضاربة بشأن التأثير السببي بين فقدان الحمل وتكسر الحمض النووي في الحيوانات المنوية في دورات التلقيح الاصطناعي. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن يكون سبب الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر في حالات معينة.
    • أسلوب الحياة والعوامل البيئية: وتشمل تدخين السجائر والكحول وتعاطي المخدرات، والنظام الغذائي السيئ أو التعرض للمواد الكيميائية والملوثات. على سبيل المثال، ترتبط زيادة الكافيين (أكثر من 3 أكواب يوميًا) بزيادة خطر الإجهاض التلقائي. يمكن معرفة نمط الحياة والعوامل البيئية عن طريق المعلومات المأخوذة من تاريخ الحالة ويمكن إدارتها وتصحيحها و/أو تجنبها.
    • العوامل المناعية: وقد استخدمت العديد من التحليلات المناعية لتحديد تأثير الجهاز المناعي في فقدان الحمل المتكرر (دراسات تصنيف مستضد الكريات البيضاء البشري (HLA), عوامل تسمم الجنين, منع أو مضادات مستويات الأجسام المضادة الأبوية والخلايا القاتلة الطبيعية وغيرها كثير). وقد أسفرت هذه الدراسات عن بيانات غير متناسقة لم يتم تكرارها عموما بين المختبرات. ومع ذلك فإننا هنا في مركز العين للإخصاب مازلنا نُجري بعض الأبحاث عن أفضل التقنيات والأساليب التي يمكنها أن تساعد في التغلب على الإجهاض التلقائي. كما نجري تقييم المناعة ونقدم العلاج إذا كان متاحًا وقابلاً للتطبيق وعندما نجد أن كل شيء على ما يرام وفي وضعه الطبيعي.
    • متلازمة تكيس المبايض (PCOS): وتتسم بوجود الخراجات في المبيضين وعدم التوازن الهرموني. ويمكن تشخيصها عن طريق الفحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية واختبار الدم. إن النساء المصابات بمتلازمة تكيس المبايض عرضة بشكل خطير جدا للإجهاض التلقائي.
    • لا يوجد سبب واضح: بعد التقييم الشامل, يمكن أن يوجد "عامل غير واضح مسبب للمرض" في حوالي 30 – 40 % من إجمالي الأزواج المتعرضين لفقدان الحمل المتكرر. ومن المهم أن نلاحظ أنه على الرغم من هذا فإن فرصة حدوث حمل ناجح في المستقبل يمكن أن تتجاوز 50-60% اعتمادًا على عمر الأم وعدد الولادات السابقة.
  • كيف تساهم فحوصات الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر في تحقيق الحمل المتبوع بإنجاب طفل حي؟

    إذا تم العثور على عيب في الرحم فقد تكون الجراحة التصحيحية قادرة على حل المشكلة. وبالنسبة لمعظم الحالات المذكورة أعلاه من متلازمة تكيسات المبايض إلى مرض السكري, وهناك علاج أو استراتيجيات يمكن أن تخفف أو تعالج الأعراض. على سبيل المثال, إذا تم العثور على عيوب في الكروموسومات يمكن أن تكون سبب الإجهاض ثم دورة التلقيح الاصطناعي واختيار الجنين عن طريق التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع (PGD) و/أو الفحص الجيني قبل الزرع (PGS) وهما الطريق لإحراز التقدم. سوف ينصحك طبيبك بشأن كيفية تحكمك في حالتك بعد إجراء تقييم شامل.

    ومع ذلك يمكن أن لا تنجح فحوصات الإجهاض التلقائي في كشف السبب وراء فقدان الحمل (لا يوجد سبب واضح) هناك العديد من العلاجات والخيارات لهذه الحالات لكن دون ضمانات حقيقية بأن يتمكنوا من علاج الحالة التي لم يتم اكتشافها. يمكن مواجهة الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر بسهولة إذا كان السبب وراء ذلك هو الغدة الدرقية على سبيل المثال ولكن يمكن أن يصبح تحديًا حقيقيًا عندما لايمكن تفسيره.

    لقد رأينا أن الإشراف الدقيق والفحص المنتظم والطمأنينة المناسبة خلال الحمل الجديد بعد الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر السابق يمكن أن يساعد حقًا من الناحية النفسية, وفي نهاية المطاف يمكن أن يؤدي إلى ولادة طفل حي. وعلى أية حال بالرغم من تاريخ الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر, فإن المرأة لديها فرصة 60-80% للحمل وإنجاب طفل بصحة جيدة.

    هنا في مركز العين للإخصاب نؤدي جميع الفحوصات الممكنة من أجل تجاوز الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر. ويمكن لأطبائنا المتخصصين أن يوفروا لك المزيد من المعلومات والتشاور معك بشأن جميع الخيارات المتاحة/المعمول بها عند الضرورة.