Thrombophilias

Testing for thrombophilia is recommended to women with a history of recurrent pregnancy loss.

 

  • What is thrombophilia and why do we test for it?

    Thrombophilia describes a condition in which the blood of the human body has an increased tendency in forming clots. It is an inherited disorder, but can be also acquired.

    Increased clot forming in the blood results from an imbalance of its fluidity components, the coagulants and anti-coagulants as they called. Coagulants enable the thickening of the blood after bleeding, for instance, and anti-coagulants increase its liquidity.

    In women, inherited thrombophilia often results in pregnancy loss or moderate-to-severe complications. Formation of a blood clot in a vascularized area of the lining of the womb can lead to a failed implantation and early miscarriage. But even in cases that implantation occurs, a freed flow of blood is essential for the development, nutrition and support of the embryo and later the fetus. Pregnant women with thrombophilia are at risk of:

    • Implantation failure
    • Repeated miscarriage
    • Low levels of amniotic fluid (oligohydramnios)
    • Pre-eclampsia (a condition characterized by high blood pressure and high protein levels in urine)
    • Thrombophlebitis (inflamed and blood-clotted veins in pregnant women)
    • Deep vein thrombosis (formation of blood clots in the larger veins of the legs)
    • Intra-uterine growth retardation
    • Unexplained intra-uterine fetal death
    • Premature labor 

    However, thrombophilia can be treated or managed with medication allowing normal and healthy babies to be born.

    To diagnose whether you have the condition, we normally test on blood samples for the two most common types of thrombophilia, factor V Leiden gene mutation and prothrombin gene mutation (G20210A). Routinely, we also check for markers such as the activity of protein C, protein S and activated protein C, as well as the levels of homocysteine and anti-thrombin III. These can give us a quick indication for the risk of developing placenta clots and deep vein thrombosis. For patients with rarer or more sever types of thrombophilia, we employ a more sophisticated test that involves a more comprehensive panel of thrombophilia genetic markers.

  • Who may need a thrombophilia test?

    Thrombophilia testing is part of the investigation for women that had an early pregnancy loss or experienced repeated miscarriages.

    In addition, thrombophilia can be completely asymptomatic and if you have knowledge that is running in your family, a test determining your status while planning for a family is highly recommended. In cases that it is not inherited, you may still develop thrombophilia due to other causes. If you are not certain of your symptoms or not knowing your family’s health history, please speak to your treating doctor who will be able to assess whether you need thrombophilia testing.

  • How is thrombophilia testing done?

    Thrombophilia can be diagnosed by having a series of blood tests. You will need to attend our day clinic in AAFC for providing the samples. Following, these will be sent off to the laboratory for analysis. At a follow up consultation, your doctor will explain to you your results, offer you further information and prescribe you with a treatment, if required.

أهبة التخثر

ويوصى بإجراء اختبار أهبة التخثر للنساء اللاتي لديهن تاريخًا من فقدان الحمل المتكرر.

  • ما هو أهبة التخثر ولماذا نقوم بإجراء هذا الاختبار؟

    تصف أهبة التخثر الحالة التي يكون فيها دم الجسم البشري لديه ميلاً متزايدًا لتكوين الجلطات. وهو اضطراب وراثي، ولكنه قد يكون أيضًا مكتسبًا.

    وينتج تكون الجلطات المتزايدة في الدم من وجود خلل في مكونات السيولة لديه، والمجلطات ومضادات التجلط كما يطلق عليها. وتُفَعِّل المجلطات خاصية تجلط الدم بعد النزيف على سبيل المثال مضادات التجلط تزيد من السيولة لديها.

    في النساء، غالبًا ما تؤدي أهبة التخثر الموروثة إلى فقدان الحمل أو مضاعفات معتدلة إلى شديدة. ويمكن أن يؤدي تكون الجلطة الدموية في منطقة بها أوعية دموية من بطانة الرحم إلى زرع فاشل وإجهاض تلقائي مبكر. ولكن حتى في الحالات التي ينجح فيها الزرع، يعد انطلاق تدفق الدم أمرًا ضروريًا لنمو المضغة (الجنين في مراحله الأولى) وتغذيته ودعمه وفيما بعد، الجنين الحي والنساء الحوامل بأهبة التخثر عرضةً لخطر:

    • فشل الزرع
    • الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر
    • انخفاض مستويات (السائل الأمينيوسي)
    • مقدمات الارتعاج (وهي حالة تتسم بارتفاع ضغط الدم وارتفاع مستويات البروتين في البول)
    • التهاب الوريد الخثاري (التهاب الأوردة وتخثر الدم فيها عند النساء الحوامل)
    • خثار الأوردة العميقة أو الخثار الوريدي (تكون جلطات دموية في الأوردة الكبيرة في الساقين)
    • تأخر النمو داخل الرحم
    • وفاة الجنين داخل الرحم دون سبب واضح
    • الولادة المبكرة

    ومع ذلك، فإن أهبة التخثر يمكن علاجها أو التحكم فيها بالأدوية التي تسمح بولادة أطفال أصحاء وطبيعيين.

    ولتشخيص ما إذا كنتِ مصابة بهذه الحالة، نقوم عادة بإجراء اختبار على عينات الدم لأكثر نوعين شائعين من أهبة التخثر، العامل الخامس لايدن لتحور الجين وطفرة البروثرومبين (G20210A). وبشكل روتيني نتحقق أيضًا من وجود علامات مثل نشاط بروتين C وبروتين S وبروتين C المنشط، فضلاً عن مستويات الحمض الأميني ومضاد الثرومبين 3. ويمكن لهذه العلامات أن تعطينا مؤشرًا سريعًا لخطر الإصابة بجلطات المشيمة وتجلط الوريد العميق. أما بالنسبة للمرضى الذين يعانون من أنواع نادرة أو حادة من أهبة التخثر، قمنا بعمل اختبار أكثر تطورًا يتضمن لوحة أكثر شمولاً من العلامات الوراثية لأهبة التخثر.

  • من التي قد يحتاج إلى اختبار أهبة التخثر؟

    اختبار أهبة التخثر هو جزء من فحص السيدات اللاتي قد فقدن حملاً مبكرًا أو تعرضن لإجهاض تلقائي متكرر.

    بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن أن لا تُكتشف أهبة التخثر ولا يكون لها أية أعراض تمامًا وإذا كنت تعرف أنها تسري في عائلتك فيوصى بشدة عمل اختبار لتحديد وضع حالتك في الوقت الذي يُجرى فيه التخطيط للأسرة. وفي الحالات غير الوراثية، فربما ما تزال أهبة التخثر تتطور نتيجة لأسباب أخرى. وإذا كنت غير متأكدة من الأعراض أو لا تعرفين تاريخ عائلتك الصحي، فيُرجى التحدث إلى طبيبك المعالج الذي سيكون قادرًا على تقييم ما إذا كنت بحاجة إلى الخضوع لاختبار أهبة التخثر.

  • كيف يتم إجراء اختبار أهبة التخثر؟

    يمكن تشخيص أهبة التخثر من خلال إجراء سلسلة من اختبارات الدم. وسيكون لزامًا عليك الحضور إلى عيادتنا النهارية في مركز العين للإخصاب لتقديم العينات. ويتبع ذلك إرسال هذه العينات إلى المختبر لتحليلها. وفي استشارة المتابعة، سيشرح لك طبيبك نتائجك، وسيقدم لك أيضًا المزيد من المعلومات ويصف لك العلاج بكل دقة إذا استلزم الأمر ذلك.