Transvaginal scan

A transvaginal scan is used to examine a woman's uterus on the inside, including the endometrium (the lining of the womb) and allowing good views of the cervix and the ovaries.

  • What is a transvaginal scan and why is it used for?

    A transvaginal scan is performed with an ultrasound probe that is inserted through and across the vagina. The probe is able to capture and transmit images to a monitor by sending out sound waves that reflect back the reproductive organs' structures.

    With a transvaginal scan the doctor can observe the changes occurring in your ovaries during your cycle, such as the development of the sacs or follicles that hold your eggs. Counting the number and measuring the size of follicles during your cycle is a very important assessment for fertility treatments, especially after ovarian stimulation during an In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF) cycle.

    Generally, a transvaginal scan is a useful examination for checking the physiology (normal structure), functioning and common disorders of the uterus, the endometrium, the cervix, the ovaries and the fallopian tubes. Some examples of conditions that can be detected with a transvaginal scan include:

    • Submucosal fibroids (non-cancerous growths in the muscular wall of the uterus; they can cause pain and heavy periods).
    • Endometrial polyps or endometrial thickness in relation to your cycle.
    • Cervical fibroids or polyps.
    • Advanced cervical cancer.
    • Endometriosis (presence of tissue that behaves like the endometrium outside the womb).
    • Hydrosalpinx (a condition characterized by blocked and filed-with-fluid fallopian tubes).
    • Ectopic pregnancy.

    The transvaginal scan has become the method of choice, as it produces very clear images and does not require you to have a full bladder compared to a conventional lower abdomen ultrasound. Additionally, this test is safe to be performed at any time of the cycle, including menstruation and any stage of pregnancy.

  • Who may need a transvaginal scan?

    Women, who undergoing fertility investigations, have frequent transvaginal scans, as they are a very informative examination for the stage of follicular development and maturation. During ovarian stimulation in IVF, transvaginal scans help us to monitor the number and growth of all the stimulated follicles, as well as the maturation of the multiple eggs. It is also used in conjunction with a needle device for the egg collection stage during IVF.

    In addition, transvaginal scans are performed to give answers in cases that you experience heavy, painful or infrequent periods, discomfort during intercourse and irregular bleeding.

    Furthermore, if you have any of the above described conditions, transvaginal scans are used for monitoring your progress after receiving a treatment or having surgical hysteroscopy or laparoscopy.

  • How is a transvaginal scan performed?

    The examination is performed by one of our doctors in our day AAFC clinic. It is done without the use of any anesthetic.

    The transvaginal probe is disinfected, covered in a protective sheath and lubricated with a small amount of ultrasound gel. The probe is about 2 cm in diameter and with the gel can be easily inserted – without any friction – into the vagina. By moving the probe towards all directions, the reproductive organs' structures are displayed back on the screen allowing the doctor to perform the examination.

    The scan lasts about 5 to 10 minutes and you may experience a very slight discomfort, but generally a transvaginal scan is considered to be a pain-free procedure. You may return to your daily activities as normally.

الفحص عن طريق المهبل

ويستخدم الفحص عن طريق المهبل لفحص رحم المرأة من الداخل, بما في ذلك بطانة الرحم والسماح بمعاينات جيدة لعنق الرحم والمبايض.

  • ما هو الفحص المهبلي ولماذا يتم إجراؤه؟

    يُجرى الفحص المهبلي بمجس الموجات فوق الصوتية الذي يتم إدخاله من خلال وعبر المهبل. ويكون المجس قادرًا على التقاط الصور ونقلها إلى شاشة عن طريق إرسال موجات صوتية تعكس صور هياكل أعضاء الجهاز التناسلي.

    يستطيع الطبيب من خلال الفحص المهبلي مراقبة التغيرات التي تطرأ على مبايضك أثناء الدورة, مثل تطور الحويصلات أو الأكياس التي تحمل بويضاتك. ويعتبر إحصاء عدد هذه الأكياس وقياس حجمها تقييم مهم جدًا لعلاج الخصوبة خاصةً بعد تنشيط المبايض خلال دورة عملية أطفال الأنابيب (IVF).

    وعموما, يعتبر الفحص المهبلي فحص مفيد للتحقق من وظائف الأعضاء (التركيب الطبيعي) وأداء لرحم وبطانة الرحم وعنق الرحم والمبايض وقناة فالوب واضطراباتهم الشائعة. وتشمل بعض الأمثلة على الحالات التي يمكن الكشف عنها  باستخدام الفحص المهبلي:

    • الأورام الليفية تحت المخاطية (أورام غير سرطانية في الجدار العضلي للرحم والتي يمكن أن تسبب الألم ومقاساةدورات شهرية صعبة
    • السلائل البطانية الرحمية أو زيادة سمك بطانة رحمك أثناء دورتك.
    • الأورام الليفية أو سلائل عنق الرحم.
    • سرطان عنق الرحم المتقدم.
    • التهاب بطانة الرحم (وجود الأنسجة التي تسلك مسلك بطانة الرحم خارج الرحم).
    • مَوَهُ البُوقِ (وهي حالة تتميز بغلق وملء قناتي فالوب بالسائل)
    • الحمل خارج الرحم

    أصبح الفحص المهبلي الطريقه المثلى في الفحص لأنه ينتج لنا صورًا واضحة ولا يتطلب أن يكون لديك مثانة ممتلئة مقارنة بالموجات فوق الصوتية التقليدية أسفل البطن. بالإضافة إلى ذلك يعتبر هذا الإختبار آمن ولا خطورة من إجرائه في أي وقت من الدورة بما في ذلك الحيض وأي مرحلة من مراحل الحمل.

  • من التي تحتاج إلى الفحص المهبلي؟

    إن النساء اللاتي يخضعن لفحوصات الخصوبة لديهن فحوصات مهبلية متكررة, كما أنها فحوصات مهمة تمدنا بالمعلومات عن مرحلة تطور الجُريبي لبصيلات البويضات ونضجها. ويساعدنا الفحص المهبلي أثناء تنشيط المبيض في عملية أطفال الأنابيب على مراقبة عدد جميع الجُريبات المنشَّطة ونموها, بالإضافة إلى نضج البويضات المتعدد. كما أنه يُجرى أيضًا باستخدام جهاز به إبرة لمرحلة جمع البويضات أثناء عملية أطفال الأنابيب.

    بالإضافة إلى ذلك يتم إجراء الفحص المهبلي لإعطاء الأجوبة في الحالات التي تمرين فيها بدورات شهريةصعبة أو مؤلمة أو غير متكررة, أو غير مريحة أثناء الجماع والنزف غير المنتظم.

    وعلاوةً على ذلك إذا كان لديك أي من الحالات المذكورة أعلاه, فإن الفحص المهبلي يُستخدم لرصد تقدمك بعد تلقي العلاج أو التنظير الرحمي أو التنظير البطني الجراحي.

  • كيف يتم إجراء الفحص المهبلي؟

    يقوم بإجراء هذا الفحص أحد الأطباء لدينا في عيادتنا النهارية بمركز العين للإخصاب، ويتم ذلك بدون استخدام أي مخدر.

    يتم تطهير المجس المستخدَّم خلال المهبل وتغطيته بغلاف واقٍ ودهنه بقدر صغير من جل جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية. وهذا المجس قطره حوالي 2 سم وبدهن الجل يمكن إدخاله بسهولة – بدون أي احتكاك – في المهبل. وعند تحريك المجس في جميع الإتجاهات, يتم عرض هياكل الأجهزة التناسلية على الشاشة مما يسمح للطبيب بإجراء الفحص.

    يستغرق الفحص من 5 إلى 10 دقائق ويمكن أن تشعري بضيق لا يُذكر, ولكن بشكل عام يعتبر الفحص المهبلي إجراء خالٍ من الألم. ويمكنك العودة إلى أنشطتك اليومية بشكل طبيعي.