Tubal patency

Tubal patency testing is often recommended to women at the beginning of their infertility investigation.

Tubal Patency Testing

  • What is tubal patency testing and why is it used for?

    Tubal patency testing is used to assess whether the fallopian tubes are fully accessible, clear of obstructions and in good communication with the uterine cavity. It involves injecting a dye through the cervix and visualizing its passage through the uterine cavity and the fallopian tubes.

    Fallopian tubes are fine tubal structures that connect the ovaries to the uterus. In every cycle, one of the two fallopian tubes allows passage of an egg from the ovary to the womb. For this egg to become fertilized before it reaches the womb, sperms need to travel the opposite direction, through the cervix, the uterine cavity and into the fallopian tubes, where they meet and interact with the egg. If the fallopian tubes are blocked, egg and sperm cannot come together, resulting in infertility.

    The fallopian tubes may be blocked because of:

    • Previous infection (for instance chlamydia, which can cause formation of scar tissue)
    • Chronic Inflammation due to infections (for instance salpingitis)
    • Endometriosis (presence of tissue that behaves like endometrium outside the womb).
    • Previous surgeries in the abdominal cavity.

    Endometriosis and infections are the most frequent reasons for tubal obstructions.

  • Who can benefit from tubal patency testing?

    Tubal patency testing can benefit women who are under routine infertility investigation and their husband’s fertility (male factor) is normal. This diagnostic test shows us whether your fallopian tubes are clear or blocked, so we can give you suitable treatment. If the tubes are patent, then we may consider an easy Assisted Reproductive Technique (ART), such as Intra-Uterine Insemination (IUI). Otherwise, if a blockage is found, In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF) will be a better option for your case.

  • How is tubal patency done?

    Tubal patency can be checked with a number of techniques, but the most frequent are:

    Hystero-Salpingo-Gram (HSG)

    It is performed by a radiologist doctor and essentially, it is a real-time X-ray examination.

    An opaque, radiology-contrasting dye is injected through your cervix, uterine cavity and into the fallopian tubes, while you are under an X-ray source. The radiologist monitors movement of the dye through a connected screen, and by the flow and the pressure applied for the dye to go through, the patency of your tubes can be assessed. If the dye flows unobstructed through your fallopian tubes and spills into the abdomen, everything is normal. However, if a spillage in the abdomen is not seen, then the point where the flow of the dye has stopped is indicative of an obstruction or anomaly.

    The examination lasts about 20 minutes, and it may cause some discomfort, similar to the cramps that you experience during your period. After a short recovery time (up to an hour), you may return to your daily activities as normally.

    Hystero-Sonography (HSN)

    HSN is carried out by a gynecologist doctor in our day AAFC clinic. It follows exactly the same rationale, as HSG, but instead of X-ray for visualization, an ultrasound transvaginal scan is used.

    To create a high resolution view, the doctor inserts an ultrasound probe connected to a screen through the vagina making visible the inside of the uterus and fallopian tubes. Next, expands the uterine cavity and the fallopian tubes with a saline solution or an ultrasound contrast media administered with a fine tube (catheter) through the cervix.

    HSN is a very detailed technique, especially for diagnosing abnormalities within the uterine cavity, and in comparison to HGS, it is less risky, since it does not involve X-ray radiation. Usually, HSN is also less painful than an HGS, although some minor discomfort may still be sensed.

    An HGN lasts about 10-15 minutes, and it can cause a minor discomfort, similar to your period pains. You may return to your daily activities as normally.

    Laparoscopy

    Laparoscopy can also be used for checking tubal patency, if this procedure has been planned for another reason.

    Laparoscopy is a type of a ‘keyhole surgery’, minimally invasive, and is performed under general anesthesia by a surgeon gynecologist. A laparoscope, which is a small tube with a light source and a camera connected to a monitor, is inserted to the abdomen or pelvis through a small incision. The doctor pumps gas into the abdomen to increase the resolution and performs his examination from the projected images. At the end of a laparoscopy, the gas is let out of the abdomen and the incision is closed with a few stiches.

    After a short recovery period with close supervision by our nurses, you may be allowed to go home the same day. Alternatively, depending on your individual circumstances and the reason for a laparoscopy, you may be kept here overnight.

قناتا فالوب

غالبًا ما يوصى بإجراء اختبار للنساء في بداية فحص العقم لديهن.

اختبار انسداد قناتي فالوب

  • ما هو اختبار انسداد قناتي فالوب ولماذا يتم إجراؤه؟

    يتم إجراء اختبار انسداد قناتي فالوب لتقييم ما إذا كان يمكن الوصول إلى قناتي فالوب بشكل كامل، وما إذا كانتا خاليتين من الانسدادات والعوائق وما إذا كان هناك اتصال جيد مع تجويف الرحم. ويستلزم هذا الاختبار حقن صبغة من خلال عنق الرحم وتصوير ممره من خلال تجويف الرحم وقناتي فالوب.

    قناتا فالوب هما هياكل أنبوبية ناعمة تربط المبيض إلى الرحم. في كل دورة، تسمح إحدى قناتي فالوب بمرور بويضة من المبيض إلى الرحم. وتصبح هذه البيضة مخصبة قبل أن تصل إلى الرحم، وتحتاج الحيوانات المنوية إلى الانتقال في الاتجاه المعاكس، من خلال عنق الرحم وتجويف الرحم وإلى قناتي فالوب، حيث يجتمعون ويتفاعلون مع البويضة. إذا تم سد قناتي فالوب فلن يستطيعا كل من البويضة والحيوان المنوي أن يجتمعا معًا، مما يؤدي إلى العقم.

    قد يتم انسداد قناة فالوب بسبب:

    • الزوائد اللحمية (كتل صغيرة غير سرطانية في سطح قناتي فالوب يمكن أن تسبب دورات شهرية ثقيلة وغير منتظمة)
    • الأورام الليفية (أورام غير سرطانية في الجدار العضلي للقناة فالوب، يمكن أن تسبب الألم ودورات شهرية ثقيلة)
    • إنتان سابق (على سبيل المثال داء المتدثرات، الذي يمكن أن يتسبب في تكون نسيج ندبي)
    • التهاب مزمن بسبب الالتهابات (على سبيل المثال التهاب البوق)
    • التهاب بطانة الرحم (وجود النسيج التي يتصرف مثل بطانة الرحم خارج الرحم).

    إن التهاب بطانة الرحم والعدوى هي الأسباب الأكثر شيوعًا لانسداد قناتي فالوب.

  • من اللاتي يمكن أن يستفدن من اختبار انسداد قناتي فالوب؟

    يمكن أن يُفيد اختبار انسداد قناتي فالوب النساء اللاتي يخضعن لفحص العقم الروتيني وخصوبة أزواجهن (العامل الذكوري) طبيعية. ويبين لنا هذا الاختبار التشخيصي ما إذا كانت قناتا فالوب خاليتين أم مسدودتين، حتى نتمكن من إعطائك العلاج المناسب. إذا كانت الأنابيب خالية ونظيفة، فقد نأخذ في الاعتبار وسائل الإخصاب المساعد (ART) والتلقيح داخل الرحم (IUI). إلا إذا تم العثور على انسداد، فستكون عملية أطفال الأنابيب (IVF) الخيار الأفضل لحالتك.

  • كيف يتم القيام باختبار انسداد قانتي فالوب؟

    يمكن التحقق من انسداد قانتي فالوب  بعدد من التقنيات، ولكن أكثرها شيوعًا هي:

    عمل أشعة بالصبغة على الرحم وقناتي فالوب (HSG)

    يقوم بذلك طبيب الأشعة وبشكل أساسي، وهو فحص فعلي بالأشعة السينية.

    يتم حقن صبغة غير نافذة وظليلة في عنق الرحم، وتجويف الرحم وفي قناتي فالوب، في حين تكون أنت تحت مصدر للأشعة السينية. ويراقب أخصائي الأشعة حركة الصبغة من خلال شاشة متصلة، وعن طريق التدفق والضغط الممارس على الصبغة لتنتشر يمكن تقييم فعالية القناتين. إذا تدفقت الصبغة دون عائق من خلال قناتي فالوب وصبت في البطن إذا فإن كل شيء طبيعي. ومع ذلك، إن لم يكن الصب في البطن غير ملاحظ، فإن النقطة التي توقف عندها تدفق الصبغة تدل على الانسداد أو الشذوذ.

    يستغرق الفحص حوالي 20 دقيقة، وقد يسبب بعض الانزعاج، على غرار التشنجات التي تواجهك أثناء الدورة الشهرية. بعد فترة نقاهة قصيرة (تصل إلى ساعة واحدة)، قد يمكنك العودة إلى أنشطتك اليومية بشكل طبيعي.

    تخطيط فوق صوتي للرحم (HSN)

    يقوم طبيب أمراض النساء بإجراء تخطيط فوق صوتي للرحم HSN في عيادتنا النهارية. ويتبع بالضبط نفس المنطق، مثل عمل أشعة بالصبغة على الرحم وقناتي فالوب (HSG)، ولكن بدلا من الأشعة السينية للتصوير، يتم عمل مسح باستخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية عبر المهبل.

    لإنشاء عرض عالي الدقة، يقوم الطبيب بإدخال مسبار الموجات فوق الصوتية المتصل بالشاشة عن طريق المهبل مما يجعله مرئيًا داخل الرحم وقناتي فالوب. بعد ذلك، يتوسع تجويف الرحم وقناتي فالوب بمحلول ملحي أو وسائط تباين الموجات فوق الصوتية التي تدار باستخدام أنبوب دقيق ناعم (قسطرة) من خلال عنق الرحم.

    التخطيط الفوق صوتي للرحم HSN هي تقنية مفصلة للغاية، وخاصة لتشخيص التشوهات داخل تجويف الرحم، وبالمقارنة مع عمل أشعة بالصبغة على الرحم وقناتي فالوب HGS، فهي أقل خطورة، لأنها لا تستلزم الأشعة السينية. وعادة ما يعتبر تخطيط فوق صوتي للرحم HSN أيضًا أقل إيلامًا من أي أشعة بالصبغة على الرحم وقناتي فالوب HGS، على الرغم من بعض الانزعاج الطفيف التي قد لا يزال محسوسًا.

    ويستغرق عمل أشعة بالصبغة على الرحم وقناتي فالوب  HGN حوالي 10-15 دقيقة، ويمكن أن يسبب انزعاجًا ثانويًا، على غرار آلام الدورة الشهرية. وتستطيع العودة إلى أنشطتك اليومية بشكل طبيعي.

    تنظير البطن

    ويمكن أيضًا أن تستخدم تنظير البطن لفحص انسداد قناتي فالوب، في حال إذا كان قد تم التخطيط لهذا الإجراء لسبب آخر.

    تنظير البطن هو نوع من 'جراحة الثقب الصغير"، محافظة بالحد الأدنى، وتتم تحت التخدير العام من قبل طبيب النساء الجراح. منظار البطن - وهو أنبوب صغير به مصدر للضوء، وكاميرا متصلة بجهاز العرض يتم إدراجه في البطن أو الحوض من خلال شق صغير. يضخ الطبيب الغاز في البطن لزيادة خمود الالتهاب ويقوم بأداء معاينته وتنظيره من الصور المعروضة. وفي نهاية تنظير البطن، يُسمح للغاز بالخروج من البطن ويتم غلق الشق بعدد قليل من الغرز.

    بعد فترة نقاهة قصيرة يصاحبها إشراف دقيق من فريق الممرضات لدينا، قد يُسمح لك بأن تعودي إلى المنزل في نفس اليوم. بدلا من ذلك، وتبعًا للظروف الفردية الخاصة بك والسبب الذي من أجله أجريت عملية تنظير البطن، قد تبقى هنا هذه الليلة حتى اليوم الثاني.