Basic Semen analysis/Seminogram

ANDROLOGY

Sperm Collection for Semen Analysis

Semen analysis is recommended to men when a couple undergoes in fertility investigations.

  • What is semen analysis?

    Semen analysis is the standard diagnostic test for evaluating male fertility. It is performed in the laboratory and involves examining several aspects of quality and quantity of sperm and semen by checking:

    • sperm count –the amount of sperm in semen
    • sperm motility – the ability of sperm to swim 
    • sperm velocity – the speed for sperm’s forward movement
    • sperm morphology – the size, shape and vitality of sperm
    • semen total volume
    • semen liquefaction –the ability of semen to turn from the gel-like state of the ejaculate to a liquid state
    • semen color and pH

    Occasionally, our andrology technologists may also prepare cultures from semen to check for bacterial infections or sexual transmitted diseases. Also in cases of azoospermia (absence of sperm), we measure fructose levels in the semen (indicative of secretory function in the testes) to determine whether any of the ejaculatory mechanisms are malfunctioning due to a blockage or other medical reason.

  • Who can benefit from semen analysis?

     

     Semen analysis is the simplest test for assessing male factor and it is the starting point for every man involved in infertility investigations. Poor quality sperm accounts for about 1/3 of infertility, and it can be independent of an overall good male health.

    When certain sperm abnormalities are found with a semen analysis (oligospermia or azoospermia for instance), additional tests (blood testing for hormonal analysis, DNA fragmentation test, or FISH on sperm, among others) will be planned, so we can fully evaluate the case.

    Also semen analysis can benefit men that have undergone reversal of their vasectomy or cancer treatment and want to check the effects of these procedures, so they can plan and proceed with creating a family.

  • How is semen analysis done?

    Prior semen analysis, you will be asked to remain abstinent of any sexual activity for 2-3 days. You will then attend our clinic in order to produce a fresh sample of semen into a sterile container in one of our private rooms, in the Andrology unit.

    The sample will be collected immediately before its quality declines and it will be analyzed in the laboratory by one of our technologists, who will examine all of the semen and sperm parameters. Your doctor will explain your results and discuss all possible options in a follow up appointment.

  • How does semen analysis contribute in the success of Assisted Reproductive Techniques (ARTs)?

    It is very important for your doctor to know the status of your semen, as it will help in deciding which type of ART, Intra-Uterine Insemination (IUI), In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) with or without Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI), you may require.

    Men with poor outcome from semen analysis may still be able to inseminate naturally and sometimes men with good results may still require help, as several factors can affect sperm count and / or other semen parameters.

    Your doctor will be able to explain your results in relation to your case and based on your individual circumstances.

التحليل الاساسي للسائل المنوي / سيمنيوجرام

علم أمراض الرجال التناسلية (الذكورة)

تحليل السائل المنوي

يُوصى بإجراء تحليل السائل المنوي للرجل عندما يخضع الزوجين لفحوصات العقم.

  • ما هو تحليل السائل المنوي؟

    تحليل السائل المنوي هو عبارة عن اختبار تشخيصي قياسي لتقييم خصوبة الرجال. يتم إجرائه داخل المختبر ويشتمل على دراسة عدة جوانب لنوعية وكمية الحيوانات المنوية والسائل المنوي عن طريق التحقق مما يلي:

    • عدد الحيوانات المنوية - كمية الحيوانات المنوية في السائل المنوي.
    • حركة الحيوانات المنوية - قدرة الحيوانات المنوية على المرور إلى الداخل.
    • سرعة الحيوانات المنوية - سرعة حركة الحيوانات المنوية إلى الأمام.
    • شكل الحيوانات المنوية - حجم وشكل وحيوية الحيوانات المنوية.
    • إجمالي حجم السائل المنوي سُيُولَة السائل المنوي و لزوجته - قدرة السائل المنوي على التحول من حالة القذف الهلامية إلى الحالة السائلة.
    • لون السائل المنوي ودرجة الحموضة.

    في بعض الأحيان، قد يقوم أيضًا أخصائيي تكنولوجيا أمراض الذكورة التابعين لنا بإعداد مزارع من السائل المنوي لفحص الالتهابات البكتيرية أو الأمراض التي تنتقل عن طريق الجنس. وأيضًا في حالات عدم وجود الحيوانات المنوية (انعدام الحيوانات المنوية)، نقوم بقياس مستويات الفركتوز في السائل المنوي (علامة على الوظيفة الإفرازية في الخصيتين) لتحديد ما إذا كان هناكخلل بأي من آليات القذف بسبب وجود انسداد أو وجود سبب طبي آخر.

  • من هم المستفيدون من تحليل السائل المنوي؟

    تحليل السائل المنوي هو أبسط اختبار لتقييم عامل الذكورة وهو نقطة الانطلاق لكل رجل يشارك في فحوصات العقم. يمثل ضعف نوعية الحيوانات المنوية حوالي 1/3 من العقم، وأنه يمكن أن يكون عاملاً مستقلاً لصحة الذكور الجيدة بشكل عام.

    عندما يتم التوصل إلى وجود بعض التشوهات في الحيوانات المنوية مع تحليل السائل المنوي (قلة الحيوانات المنوية أو عدم وجود الحيوانات المنوية)، فسيتم التخطيط لإجراء اختبارات إضافية (اختبار الدم للتحليل الهرموني، اختبار تفتيت الحمض النووي أو فلورية التهجين الموضعي في الحيوانات المنوية، وغيرها) حتى نتمكن من إجراء تقييم كامل للحالة.

    ويمكن أن يوفر أيضًا تحليل السائل المنوي إفادة للرجال الذين خضعوا لعملية تغيير مسار قناة المني أو لعلاج السرطان، ويرغبون في التحقق من آثار هذه الإجراءات، حتى يتمكنوا من تخطيط للعلاج والمضي قدمًا نحو تكوين عائلة.

  • كيف يتم تحليل السائل المنوي؟

    سيُطلب منك قبل تحليل السائل المنوي الامتناع عن أي ممارسة جنسية لمدة تتراوح من 2 إلى 3 أيام. ثم تحضر بعد ذلك إلى العيادة من أجل أخذ عينة جديدة من السائل المنوي في وعاء معقم في أحد الغرف الخاصة بنا في وحدة أمراض الذكورة.

    وسيتم جمع العينة مباشرة قبل انخفاض نوعيتها وسيتم تحليلها في المختبر من قبل أحد خبراء التكنولوجيا التابعين لنا، الذي بدره سيقوم بفحص كل مواصفات السائل المنوي والحيوانات المنوية. سيقوم طبيبك بتوضيح النتائج الخاصة بك ومناقشة كل الخيارات الممكنة في موعد المتابعة.

  • كيف يساهم تحليل السائل المنوي في نجاح تقنيات الإخصاب المساعدة (ARTs)؟

    من المهم جدًا لطبيبك معرفة حالة السائل المنوي لديك، لأن ذلك سوف يساعد في اختيار نوع تقنية الإخصاب المساعدة (ART) التي تحتاجها سواء التلقيح داخل الرحم (IUI) أو التلقيح الصناعي في المختبر (IVF) مع أو بدون حقن الحيوان المنوي المجهري للبويضة (ICSI).

    وقد لا يزال الرجال الذين لديهم نتائج تحليل السائل المنوي سيئة قادرون على الإخصاب بشكل طبيعي وقد يحتاج في بعض الأحيان الرجال الذين لديهم نتائج التحليل جيدة إلى المساعدة، وهناك عدة عوامل يمكن أن تؤثر على عدد الحيوانات المنوية و/أو معلمات السائل المنوي الأخرى.

    سيكون بإمكان الطبيب المتابع لك شرح النتائج الخاصة بك المتعلقة بحالتك وبناء على الظروف الفردية الخاصة بك.