FISH on sperm

A Fluorescence In-Situ Hybridization (FISH) test assesses the presence of chromosomal abnormalities on certain genetic locations that are crucial for new life.

  • What is a FISH test on sperm?

    The FISH test on sperm shows the proportion of chromosomal mistakes in men undergoing infertility investigation. The results of FISH are presented as the percentage of sperm cells that have chromosomal abnormalities in a semen sample.

    The genetic material (DNA) is organized in a set number of chromosomes. There are 46 chromosomes in a human cell organized in 23 pairs, with 23 coming from a sperm and 23 from an egg. The loss of one or more chromosomes due to a genetic mistake accounts for a chromosomal abnormality called aneuploidy. Normally, all men have a 1.9-2% of sperm aneuploidy in their semen*. This may occur due to a mistake during production and maturation of sperm in the testes.

    An increase in the percentage of sperms with aneuploidy has been associated with infertility, poor-outcome Assisted Reproductive Technique (ART) and repeated miscarriages.

    With the FISH test on sperm, we look at specific chromosomal locations (chromosomes 13, 18, 21, X and Y) and estimate the risk of having embryos with chromosomal abnormalities. Some chromosomal mistakes are compatible with life (for instance, as it happens with babies born with Down or Turner syndromes), but most of them result in spontaneous miscarriages.

    For cases involving a high percentage of sperm aneuploidy, we recommend Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) and / or Preimplanation Genetic Screening (PGS) of the early embryo. These genetic analyses will be able to identify abnormalities that have been passed onto the early embryo.

  • Who may need a FISH test on sperm?

    This test is recommended to men that have faced an infertility issue, and a classical semen analysis has not been able to pinpoint the problem.

    It is also recommended to men that their semen analysis showed a high percentage of abnormal-shaped sperms (abnormal morphology orteratozoospermia), although aneuploidy can also occur to normal-shaped sperms.

    Additionally, a FISH test on sperm is essential in cases that there has been a previous In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF) or implantation failure, unexplained infertility, or repeated miscarriages. Finding a high percentage of sperm chromosomal abnormalities might be the explanation in these instances.

    High levels of sperm aneuploidy are often attributed to cigarette smoking, high caffeine intake, high alcohol or drug consumption, chemical, toxic or radiation exposure (including treatment for cancer), advanced paternal age and hormonal imbalances.

    Sperm production in the testes is a continuous process, with a sperm maturation cycle taking about 11-12 weeks. Management of the above risk factor(s) may be able to reduce the levels of chromosomal abnormalities in sperm within a period of 3-6 months. In those cases, a repeat semen analysis and FISH test will show the improvement. However, the cause of high level sperm aneuploidy may sometimes be irreversible.

  • How is a FISH test on sperm done?

    A FISH test on sperm is done by our andrology technologists in the laboratory following sperm collection for analysis.

    After semen processing, isolated individual sperms are chemically fixed in their latest live state and two of our technologists check independently specific chromosomic locations in two sub-specimens of the investigated sample. To do that, they label chromosomes 13, 18, 21, X and Y with specific fluorescent probes and observe a representative amount of individual sperms microscopically. The results combine their individual observations and are presented as a percentage of aneuploidy for the sample as a whole.

  • What does a FISH test on sperm tell us about the success of ARTs?

    A high-percentage of chromosomal abnormalities in sperm has been shown** to have a negative effect on pregnancy rates and it is normally associated with recurrent miscarriages, after a natural or an ART-mediated conception (for instance IVF, Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection, ICSI).

    In some cases, where risk factors can be managed efficiently resulting in a lower percentage of sperm aneuploidy, the prospect of a successful ART increases (especially when other parameters, such as maternal age and egg quality are also optimal).

    Here in AAFC, we use FISH test on sperm in conjunction with other diagnostic tests in order to understand persistent infertility, previous ART failure and repeated miscarriages. We can help you take an informed reproductive decision and offer you support, when necessary. Our specialist doctors will provide you with a comprehensive consultation for all other available / applicable options and explanations.

    References

    * Egozcue J, Blanco J, Vidal F (1997). Chromosome studies in human sperm nucleiusing fluorescence in-situ hybridization (FISH). Hum Reprod Update. 3(5): 441-52 (Pubmed; PMID: 9528909)

    ** Chatziparasidou A, Christoforidis N, Samolada G, Nijs M (2015). Spermaneuploidy in infertile male patients: a systematic review of the literature. Andrologia. (8): 847-60. (Pubmed; PMID: 25352353)

اختبار تقنية FISH على الحيوانات المنوية

الهدف من استخدام تقنية (FISH) هو الكشف عن وجود تشوهات على مستوى الكروموسومات في الحيوانات المنوية للرجال.

  • ما هو اختبار FISH على الحيوانات المنوية؟

    يكشف اختبار FISH على الحيوانات المنوية نسبة أخطاء الكروموسومات لدى الرجال الخاضعين لفحص العقم. و تظهر نتيجة الفحص على شكل نسبة مئوية لخلايا الحيوانات المنوية التي توجد بها تشوهات كرموسومية في عينة سائل منوي.

    ومن المعروف أن المادة الوراثية (DNA) موجودة في 46 كروموسوم في الخلية البشرية. 23 كروموسوم من الحيوان المنوي و23 كروموسوم من البويضة. ويتسبب فقدان/زيادة كروموسوم أو أكثر بسبب خطأ وراثي في حدوث تشوه كروموسومي يسمى اختلال الصيغة الصبغية. وعادةً ما يكون لدى جميع الرجال 1.9-2% خلل كروموسومي في الحيوانات المنوية  أثناء انتاجها ونضجها في الخصيتين.

    وقد ارتبطت الزيادة في النسبة المئوية للحيوانات المنوية المختلة بالعقم وسوء نتائج تقنيات الإنجاب المساعد (ART) والإجهاض المتكرر.

    وأثناء إجراء اختبار FISH على الحيوانات المنوية، ننظر إلى مواضع كرموسومية محددة (الكروموسومات 13 ،18 ،21 ،X وY).

    بالنسبة للحالات التي تتضمن نسبة خلل كبيرة في تشوهات ، ننصح بإجراء اختبار التشخيص الجيني  لما قبل الإخصاب PGD/ أو الفحص الجيني لما قبل الإخصاب PGS للأجنة المنتجة عن طريق تقنيات الأنجاب المساعدة. ويمكن لهذه التحليلات الوراثية تحديد التشوهات التي مر بها الجنين المبكر قبل عملية ترجيعه لرحم الأم.

  • من الذين يحتاجون لاختبار FISH على الحيوانات المنوية؟

    يوصى بهذا الاختبار للرجال الذين لديهم مشكلة العقم، ولم يتمكن تحليل السائل المنوي التقليدي من تحديد المشكلة.

    يوصى أيضًا بالاختبار للرجال الذين أظهرت تحليلات السائل المنوي لديهم نسبة عالية من الحيوانات المنوية مشوهة الشكل، علما بأن خلل الكروموسومات يمكن أن يحدث أيضًا للحيوانات المنوية الطبيعية الشكل.

    علاوةً على ذلك، يعد اختبار FISH أساسي في الحالات التي أخفق فيها الحمل بالأستعانة بتقنيات المساعدة على الأنجاب، أو حالات العقم غير المفسرة، أو الإجهاض المتكرر. إن اكتشاف نسبة عالية من التشوهات الكروموسومية في الحيوانات المنوية قد يفسر هذه الحالات.

    يعود سبب ارتفاع خلل الكروموسومات في الحيوانات المنوية المرتفع إلى التدخين، وكثرة تناول الكافيين، والإفراط في الكحوليات أو المخدرات، أو التعرض لمواد كيماوية أو سامة أو إشعاعية (بما في ذلك العلاج من السرطان)، وتقدم عمر الأب أو وجود خلل هرموني.

    تنتج الخصيتان الحيوانات المنوية باستمرار، وتستغرق دورة اكنمال نضوج الحيوان المنوي 11-12 أسبوعًا. وقد تؤدي إدارة عوامل الخطر السابقة إلى تقليل مستويات التشوه الكروموسومي في الحيوان المنوي خلال الفترة من 3 إلى 6 شهور. وفي تلك الحالات سيُظهر التحليل المكرر للسائل المنوي واختبار FISH مدى التحسن. غير أنه في بعض الأحيان قد يتعذر علاج سبب ارتفاع مستوى خلل الكروموسومات  للحيوانات المنوية.

  • كيف يُجرى اختبار FISH على الحيوانات المنوية؟

    يتم اختبار FISH على الحيوانات المنوية على يد خبراء الذكورة في معاملنا بعد جمع الحيوانات المنوية للتحليل.

    بعد معالجة السائل المنوي، تعزل الحيوانات المنوية وتثبت كيميائيًا في آخر صورة حية لها، ويقوم اثنان من خبرائنا بفحص مستقل لمواقع كرموسومية معينة في عينتين فرعيتين من العينة المفحوصة. وللقيام بذلك فإنهما يحددان الكروسومات 13 و18 و21 وX وY بمجسات فلورية متألقة خاصة ويرصدان الكمية الممثلة من الحيوانات المنوية ميكروسكوبيًا. وتجمع نتائج رصديهما للحصول على النتائج النهائية وتقدم كنسبة خلل في الصيغة الصبغية للعينة ككل.

  • بم يخبرنا اختبار FISH على السائل المنوي عن نجاح تقنيات الإنجاب المساعد؟

    إن لنسبة كبيرة من التشوهات الكروموسومية في الحيوان المنوي أثر سلبي على معدلات الحمل ويبدو أنها ترتبط عادةً بتكرار الإجهاض، بعد حدوث حمل طبيعي أو بمساعدة تقنيات الإنجاب المساعد(مثل التلقيح الاصطناعي في المختبر IVF – الحقن المجهري ICSI)

    وفي بعض الحالات – عندما يمكن التعامل مع عوامل الخطر بكفاءة بما يؤدي إلى تقليل نسبة اختلال الكروموسومات في الحيوانات المنوية – تزداد فرص نجاح تقنيات التناسل المساعد (خاصة عندما تكون العوامل الأخرى – مثل عمر الأم وجودة البويضة – مثالية).

    وهنا في مركز العين للأخصاب نستخدم اختبار FISH على الحيوانات المنوية بالإضافة إلى اختبارات أخرى تشخيصية لكي نفهم سبب العقم والإخفاقات السابقة في تقنيات التناسل المساعد وتكرار الإجهاض. يمكننا مساعدتكم على اتخاذ قرار الإنجاب عن وعي ونقدم لكم الدعم عند اللزوم. سيقدم أطباؤنا المختصون لكم استشارة شاملة لكل الخيارات والتفسيرات الأخرى المتاحة/القابلة للتطبيق.

    المراجع

    Egozcue J, Blanco J, Vidal F (1997). Chromosome studies in human sperm nuclei using fluorescence in-situ hybridization (FISH). Hum Reprod Update. 3(5): 441-52 (Pubmed; PMID: 9528909)

    Chatziparasidou A, Christoforidis N, Samolada G, Nijs M (2015). Sperm aneuploidy in infertile male patients: a systematic review of the literature. Andrologia. (8): 847-60. (Pubmed; PMID: 25352353)