Oxidative stress in sperm

Oxidative stress testing is recommended to infertile men with low quality and quantity of sperms in their semen, who would like to know the reason behind their condition.

  • What is oxidative stress and how can it affect sperm?

    Oxidative stress is the leading cause for DNA damage in the sperm and it can have a long-term effect in male fertility. Reactive oxygen species (ROS), such as hydrogen peroxide (H2O2), hydroxyl radicals (OH-) and superoxide anions (O2-), are normally present in the semen as byproducts of sperm activity. ROS are maintained at low levels by effective anti-oxidant mechanisms, and at health, their fine-balanced levels benefit the process of fertilization.

    However, if ROS rise, they cause oxidative stress and an array of effects depending on the level of their increase. They can:

    • affect the sperm cell membrane changing its shape
    • decrease sperms’ ability to produce the required energy for swimming fast and efficiently
    • cause sperm DNA fragmentation
    • reduce sperm vitality
    • diminish overall testicular function, sperm production and maturation

    Increased ROS levels are associated with male infertility and poor-outcome Assisted Reproductive Technique (ART). If a successful insemination takes place, oxidative stress can also affect normal embryo development.

    In case you are diagnosed with high ROS levels, a DNA fragmentation test assessing the genetic integrity of your sperm will be recommended, as it can show us the extent of the problem.

  • Who may need sperm oxidative stress testing?

    This test can provide answers to men that have faced an infertility issue for a long time. A classical semen analysis may show the effects of oxidative stress in sperm quality and quantity, but it will not reveal the reason behind it.

    This test is also informative if you had a previous failed ART, experienced repeated miscarriages, or if your case has been linked to unexplained infertility.

    Elevated ROS can be the result of an immune response and inflammation due to a genito-urinary tract infection, a sexual transmitted disease, injury, surgery, or due to a chronic condition. Furthermore, it can be caused by chemical, toxic or radiation exposure (including treatment for cancer), cigarette smoking, high alcohol or drug consumption and medical conditions, such as varicocele or cryptorchidism.

    Sperm production in the testes is a continuous process, with a sperm maturation cycle taking about 11-12 weeks. Managing the above risk factor(s) and enriching your nutrition with anti-oxidants can reduce the levels of ROS in your sperm within a period of 3-6 months. In case of an infection or other medical condition, antibiotic treatment or corrective surgery (as with varicocele for instance) can also decrease ROS levels.

    A repeat semen analysis in conjunction with oxygen stress testing will show the improvement. However, if the cause is a chronic condition, ROS levels may remain irreversibly high.

  • How is an oxidative stress test in sperm done?

    Oxidative stress testing is done by one of our andrology technologists in the laboratory following sperm collection for analysis.

    After initial stages of semen preparation, which include semen washing and centrifugation for the collection of sperm, the sample is allowed to reach liquefaction (the ability of semen to turn from the gel-like state of the ejaculate into a liquid state).  Following, a chemical that emits light (chemiluminescence) when bound to a ROS byproduct is added to the sample. The color produced depends on the amount of ROS in the sample, and is measured by the use of an apparatus called a luminometer. The results are compared to a range of standard ROS values and presented as amount of ROS per total number of sperms in a sample.

  • What does an oxidative stress test in sperm tell us about the success of ARTs?

    A big percentage of infertile men suffer from oxidative stress, and as high levels of ROS can severely affect sperm quality and quantity, the success rate of an ART-mediated conception for untreated cases is low.

    With efficient management of risk factors and a diet rich in anti-oxidants, ROS levels can drop increasing the chance of a successful ART (especially when other parameters, such as maternal age and egg quality are also optimal).

    In straightforward cases, after effective treatment, a natural conception may even become possible. However, in more challenging cases, in which sperm DNA fragmentation has occurred, the success of an ART cannot be guaranteed.

    Here in AAFC, we use the sperm oxidative stress test in conjunction with other diagnostic tests in order to understand persistent infertility, previous ART failure and repeated miscarriages. We can help you take an informed reproductive decision and offer you support, when necessary. Our specialist doctors will provide you with a comprehensive consultation for all other available / applicable options and explanations.

اختبار الجهد التأكسدي على الحيوانات المنوية

يوصى بإجراء اختبار الإجهاد التأكسدي للرجال المصابين بالعقم مع تدني جودة الحيوانات المنوية وكميتها في السائل المنوي, والذين يرغبون في معرفة السبب وراء حالتهم.

  • ما هو الإجهاد التأكسدي وكيف يمكن أن يؤثر على الحيوانات المنوية؟

    الإجهاد التأكسدي هو السبب الرئيسي لتلف الحمض النووي في السائل المنوي ويمكن أن يكون له تأثير على المدى البعيد على خصوبة الرجال. إن أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية (ROS), مثل بيروكسيد الهيدروجين (H2O2), جذور الهيدروكسيل (-OH) وأنيونات فوق الأكسيد (O2-), موجودة بشكل طبيعي في السائل المنوي كمنتج ثانوي من الحيوانات المنوية. يتم الحفاظ على أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية عند مستويات منخفضة بآليات فعالة مضادة للأكسدة, وفي حال صحتهم تصبح فوائد مستويات التوازن جيدة لعملية الإخصاب.

    ومع ذلك فإنه إذا ارتفعت أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية فإنها تسبب إجهادًا تأكسديًا وتصطف الآثار تبعًا لمستوى زيادتهم؛ فيمكن:

    • التأثير على الغشاء الخلوي للحيوان المنوي فيتغير شكله
    • خفض قدرة الحيوانات المنوية على إنتاج الطاقة اللازمة للسباحة بسرعة وفعالية.
    • التسبب في تكسر الحمض النووي للسائل المنوي
    • الحد من حيوية الحيوان المنوي
    • التقليل من القدرة الوظيفية للخصية بشكل عام, وكذلك إنتاج الحيوانات المنوية والنضج

    وترتبط زيادة مستويات أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية بعقم الذكور وبوسائل الإخصاب المساعد ضعيفة النتائج. إذا حدث تلقيح ناجح يمكن أن يؤثر إجهاد التأكسد على تطور الجنين الطبيعي .

    وإذا تم تشخيص حالتك على أنها ذات مستويات عالية من أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية فننصحك بإجراء اختبار تكسر الحمض النووي للسائل المنوي لتقييم السلامة الوراثية لحيواناتك حيث أنه يُظهر لنا حجم المشكلة وإلي أي مدى وصلت.

  • من الذين قد يحتاجون لإختبار الإجهاد التأكسدي للحيوانات المنوية؟

    يمكن لهذا الاختبار أن يوفر الإجابات للرجال الذين واجهوا مشكلة العقم لفترة طويلة. وقد تُظهر تحاليل المني التقليدية تأثير الإجهاد التأكسدي على جودة الحيوانات المنوي وكميتها, لكنه لن يكشف عن السبب وراء ذلك.

    يمدك هذا الاختبار أيضًا بالمعلومات المفيدة إذا كان لديك سابق تجربة فاشلة بمساعدة وسائل التخصيب المساعد, أو تجربة الإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر أو إذا ارتبطت حالتك بالعقم غير المبرر.

    ارتفاع أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية يمكن أن يكون نتيجة استجابة مناعية والالتهابات نتيجة لعدوى المسالك البولية والتناسلية, والأمراض التي تنتقل بالاتصال الجنسي أو نتيجة إصابة أوجراحة أو بسبب حالة مرضية مزمنة. وعلاوةً على ذلك يمكن أن يكون سببه التعرض للمواد الكيميائية أو السامة أو الإشعاع (بما في ذلك علاج السرطان), وتدخين السجائر والإفراط في شرب الكحوليات أو المخدرات والحالات المرضية مثل دوالي الخصية أو الخصية المعلقة.

    إن إنتاج الحيوانات المنوية في الخصيتين عملية مستمرة مع دورة نضج الحيوانات المنوية التي تأخذ ما يقارب من 11 إلى 12 أسبوع. ويمكن لإدارة عامل الخطر المذكور أعلاه وإثراء تغذيتك بالمواد المضادة للتأكسد تقليل مستويات أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية في حيواناتك المنوية في غضون 3-6 شهور. وفي حالة وجود عدوى أو حالة مرضية أخرى, أو العلاج بالمضادات الحيوية أو الجراحة التصحيحية (كما هو الحال مع دوالي الخصية على سبيل المثال) يمكن أيضًا أن يقللوا من مستويات أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية.

    سوف تظهر التحليلات المتكررة للسائل المنوي بالتزامن مع اختبارات الإجهاد التأكسدي بعض التحسن. ومع ذلك إذا كان السبب حالة مزمنة, فقد تبقى مستويات أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية مرتفعة بغير رجعة.

  • كيف يتم إجراء اختبار الإجهاد التأكسدي في الحيوانات المنوية؟

    يتم إجراء اختبار الإجهاد التأكسدي على يد أحد تقنيي أمراض الذكورة لدينا في المختبر عقب جمع الحيوانات المنوية لتحليلها.

    بعد المرحلة الأولى من إعداد السائل المنوي الذي يشمل غسل السائل المنوي وطرده مركزيًا من أجل تجميع الحيوانات, ويُسمح للعينة بالوصول لمرحلة التسييل (قدرة السائل المنوي على التحول من الحالة الهلامية مثل حالة المني المقذوف إلى الحالة السائلة). وفيما يلي, مادة كيميائية تبعث ضوءًا (الضيائية الكيميائية) عندما تضاف أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية الثانوية إلى العينة. ويعتمد اللون الناتج على مقدار أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية في العينة, ويتم قياسها عن طريق استخدام جهاز يسمى لومينوميتر "مضواء الصورة". وتتم مقارنة النتائج بمعدل مقياس قيمة أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية والمقدمة في شكل مقدار من أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية لكل رقم إجمالي من الحيوانات المنوية في العينة.

  • ماذا يخبرنا اختبار الإجهاد التأكسدي في الحيوانات المنوية عن نجاح وسائل التخصيب المساعد؟

    هناك نسبة كبيرة من الرجال يعانون من العقم الناتج عن الإجهاد التأكسدي ولأن ارتفاع مستويات أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية يمكن أن يؤثر بحدة على جودة الحيوانات المنوية وكميتها فسينخفض معدل نجاح الحمل بوسائل التخصيب المساعد في الحالات التي لم تتم معالجتها.

    مع الإدارة الفعالة لعوامل الخطر والنظام الغذائي الغني بمضادات الأكسدة يمكن لمستويات أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية أن تخفض عدد الفرص المتزايدة لنجاح الحمل  بوسائل التخصيب المساعد (وخاصة عندما تكون المعاملات الأخرى مثل عمر الأم وجودة البويضة أيضًا هي الأفضل والأحسن).

    قد يصبح الحمل الطبيعي ممكنًا في الحالات البسيطة وذلك بعد العلاج الفعال. ومع ذلك ففي حالات أكثر صعوبة يكون فيها الحمض النووي للحيوانات المنوية قد تكسر, لا يكون نجاح وسائل التخصيب المساعد مضمونًا.

    نحن نقوم هنا في مركز العين للإخصاب بإجراء اختبار الإجهاد التأكسدي للحيوانات المنوية بالتزامن مع الاختبارات التشخيصية لفهم العقم الدائم, الإخفاق السابق لوسائل التخصيب المساعد والإجهاض التلقائي المتكرر. يمكننا أن نساعدك على اتخاذ قرار مستنير بشأن أمر الإنجاب ونقدم لك الدعم عند الضرورة. وسيوفر لك أطباؤنا المتميزون المشورة الشاملة بكل الخيارات المتاحة أو القابلة للتطبيق وكذلك جميع التفسيرات والتوضيحات.