ICSI

Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI) is recommended for male infertility and it can be applied as part of natural-cycle, minimal-stimulation or full In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF).

  • What is ICSI?

    In ICSI, a single sperm is selected and inserted into an egg that has been obtained through IVF treatment. Although ICSI has been routinely used for almost 20 years, it is still considered a major development for the treatment of male infertility. It has been the solution for cases of very low-count, poor-quality and / or difficult-to-retrieve sperm.

    With the use of fine micro manipulator equipment under microscopy, a sperm can be manually injected into an egg, triggering its fertilization. ICSI is feasible because a sperm is 100 times smaller than an egg.

    After fertilization has occurred, 2-3 days or 5 days later (blastocyst stage), the best quality embryo(s) are selected and transferred back in the womb, as in IVF without ICSI. The number of embryos transferred entirely depends on your individual circumstances (for instance age, number and quality of available embryos, previous failed attempts).

    The end goal of an IVF with ICSI is to have an ongoing, healthy pregnancy followed by a live birth.

  • Who can benefit from ICSI?

    ICSI is the method of choice for male infertility, when the availability, quality and / or quantity of sperm are very limited. As a matter of fact, ICSI was used at the beginning, when the technique was described, to solve male infertility cases.

    Men with a very low-count (small number of sperm in the semen), defected-motility (limited movement) and / or abnormal-morphology (misshaped) sperm are good candidates for ICSI. In these cases, the good quality sperms from their samples, which exist but in a low percentage, are extracted and used for the injection.

    This method is also recommended to couples that have a history of previous unsuccessful attempts with IVF.

    ICSI may also be the method of choice, if the sperm comes from a frozen sample and its quality / survival after thawing is not as optimum for usage with conventional IVF.

    ICSI can also benefit men that have undergone a vasectomy or have azoospermia (absence of sperm in the semen). In these cases, sperms are collected surgically form where they are produced and stored in the testes or the epididymis (a tube structure inside the scrotum where sperms are generated and matured).

  • How is ICSI done?

    ICSI is practically a variation of the conventional IVF cycle, and it follows exactly the same steps up until egg collection.

    The sperms for ICSI can be sourced on the day of egg collection through:

    If the procedure of retrieving sperm is estimated to be difficult or time-consuming for it to happen on the same day as egg collection, then it will be carried out before the IVF cycle begins, and the samples will be frozen until needed. Alternatively, the procedure can be performed 24 hours prior ICSI, with the sperms being incubated in the laboratory until needed the next day.

    The embryologist, who will assess the sperms before ICSI, examines their morphology (shape) and ability to move (motility) under a microscope. The best sperms are selected and placed in a dish, until the mature eggs become also available.

    Our embryologist, next, uses a sharp and hollow needle to pick up a single sperm. In the same time, a mature egg is held in place with a micropipette, through the use of a micromanipulation device. The sharp needle is then used to pierce the immobilized egg, and the single sperm is released into its core. The needle is carefully retracted and the injected egg is placed in a dish and back in the incubator. This procedure is repeated for all available eggs.

    The rest of the steps: fertilization, embryo transfer, first pregnancy test and ultrasound scan are performed exactly the same as in IVF. Preimplantation Genetic  Diagnosis (PGD) and / or Preimplanation Genetic Screening (PGS) testing for any chromosomal abnormalities can be performed before embryo transfer.

  • How successful can ICSI be?

    Currently ICSI is used to fertilize eggs as a routine technique in more than 90% of couples undergoing IVF. These cases, apart from male factor infertility, include unexplained infertility, advanced maternal age, or a previous failed attempt with conventional IVF, among other reasons.

    About 70-85% of the eggs injected with sperm in ICSI become fertilized. However, the overall outcome of ICSI depends on your individual circumstances. Chromosomal integrity of the sperm used and maternal age are the two main factors responsible for a negative outcome. Normally, younger women exhibit a high percentage of success with ICSI, but that declines dramatically with women over 45.

    If you have further questions about ICSI, our specialist doctors can provide you with more information and consult you on all available options, depending on your individual circumstances.

تقنية الحقن المجهري للبويضة (ICSI)

يوصى بإجراء الحقن المجهري بأستخدام حيوان منوي منفرد لكل بويضة للأزواج في حالة عقم الرجال عندما يكون عدد الحيوانات المنوية غير كاف لتلقيح البويضات بالطريقة الكلاسيكية لتقنيات المساعدة على الأنجاب (IVF)

  • ما هو الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية (ICSI)؟

    على الرغم من أن الحقن المجهري للبويضات يستخدم بشكل روتيني لما يقرب من 20 عامًا, إلا أنه مازال يعتبر تطورًا كبيرًا في علاج العقم عند الذكور. فهو دائمًا ما يكون الحل لحالات انخفاض عدد الحيوانات المنوية أو افتقارها للجودة أو صعوبة أستخراجها. باستخدام أدوات دقيقة تحت المجهر, يتم حقن حيوان منوي يدويًا داخل البويضة مما يؤدي إلى تلقيحها. اتمام عملية التخصيب ممكنًا وقابلاً للتنفيذ بسبب أن الحيوان المنوي أصغر 100 مرة من البويضة. بعد تكون الأجنة و أنقسامها ويتم اختيار الجنين ذي النوعية الأفضل ونقله مرة أخرى إلى الرحم ويعتمد عدد الأجنة المنقولة كليًا على ظروفك الشخصية (على سبيل المثال عمر الأجنة المتاحة وعددها ونوعيتها أو المحاولات الفاشلة السابقة). الهدف النهائي من عملية أطفال الأنابيب إلى جانب الحقن المجهري للحيوان المنوي في البويضة هو إيجاد حمل صحي مستمر متبوع بولادة طفل حي.

  • من الذي يمكنه الاستفادة من الحقن المجهري للبويضة؟

    يكون الحقن المجهري للبويضة هو أفضل طريقة علاج لعقم الرجال عنما تكون نوعية و/أو كمية الحيوانات المنوية المتوفرة محدودة جدًا.

    هذه التقنية اللتي ينصح بها  للرجال الذين لديهم عدد منخفض جدًا من (عدد قليل من الحيوانات المنوية في السائل المنوي) الحيوانات المنوية ضعيفة الحركة (حركتها محدودة) و/أو قلة الأشكال الطبيعية للحبوانات المنوية وفي هذه الحالات يتم استخراج الحيوانات المنوية ذات الجودة العالية من عيناتهم - الموجودة  واستخدامها للحقن، لكل بويضة نحتاج الى حيوان منوي واحد فقط.

    هذه التقنية ينصح بها للأزاوج الذين لديهم تاريخ من المحاولات السابقة غير الناجحة لعمليات أطفال الأنابيب التقليدية (IVF).

    قد يكون الحقن المجهري هو منهج الاختيار- إذا كانت الحيوانات المنوية تأتي من عينة مجمدة وجودتها/باقية على قيد الحياة بعد الذوبان - ليس الأمثل للاستخدام التقليدي لعملية أطفال الأنابيب.

    و تقنيةالحقن المجهريينصح بها للرجال الذين خضعوا لاستئصال الأسهر (قطع قناة المني) أو لديهم فقد النطاف (انعدام الحيوانات المنوية في السائل المنوي). وفي هذه الحالة يتم جمع الحيوانات المنوية جراحيًا والتي يتم إنتاجها وتخزينها في الخصيتين أو البربخ (هيكل أنبوبي الشكل داخل كيس الصفن حيث يتم توليد الحيوانات المنوية ونضجها).

  • كيف يتم الحقن المجهري للحيوان داخل البويضة ؟

    يختلف الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية عمليًا عن عملية أطفال الأنابيب التقليدية ويتبعه نفس الخطوات تمامًا حتى عملية جمع البويضات.

    يمكن جمع الحيوانات المنوية في يوم جمع البويضات من خلال:

    • جمع السائل المنوي الطازج
    • ذوبان العينة المجمدة
    • عملية جراحية بسيطة, على سبيل المثال استخراج الحيوانات المنوية من الخصية (TESE) أو استخراج الحيوانات المنوية من البربخ عن طريق الجلد (PESE).
    • الجراحة المجهرية على سبيل المثال, مع استخراج الحيوانات المنوية من الخصية (TESE) أو استخراج الحيوانات المنوية من البربخ عن طريق الجلد (PESE).

    إذا قُدر أن إجراء استرجاع الحيوان المنوي سيكون أمرًا صعبًا أو سيستغرق وقتًا طويلاً للقيام به في نفس يوم جمع البويضات, فسيتم تنفيذه قبل بدء دورة أطفال الأنابيب, وسوف يتم تجميد العينات لحين الحاجة إليها. وبدلاً من ذلك فإن هذا الإجراء يمكن القيام به قبل الحقن المجهري بحوالي 24 ساعة عن طريق الحيوانات المنوية التي وضعها في الحاضنة في المختبر لحين الحاجة إليها في اليوم التالي.

    يقوم أخصائي الأجنة - وهو الذي سوف يقيم الحيوانات المنوية قبل الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية - بفحص تركيب الحيوانات المنوية وشكلها وقدرتها على الحركة تحت المجهر. ويتم اختيار أفضل الحيوانات المنوية ووضعها في طبق حتى يتم نضج البويضات أيضًا.

    بعد ذلك يستخدم أخصائي الأجنة إبرة حادة وجوفاء لالتقاط حيوان منوي واحد. وفي نفس الوقت يتم استخدام أنبوب دقيق لحمل البويضة الناضجة ووضعها في مكانها من خلال جهاز التشريح الميكريسكوبي الدقيق. وتكون الإبرة الحادة رفيعة وتستخدم لإنفاذها في البويضة المثبتة ويتم حقن الحيوان المنوي المنفرد في قلبها. ويتم سحب الإبرة بعناية ووضع البويضة المحقونة في طبق ثم إرجاعها للحاضنة (جهاز حضانة البويضات). ويتم تكرار هذا الإجراء لجميع البويضات المتوفرة.

    يتم إجراء باقي الخطوات: التلقيح ونقل الأجنة واختبار الحمل الأول والفحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية بالضبط كما في عملية أطفال الأنابيب. ويمكن إجراء تشخيصات جينية قبل الزرع (PGD)/أو الفحوصات الوراثية قبل الزرع (PGS) لاختبار أي اضطراب صبغي قبل النقل.

  • ما مدى نجاح الحقن المجهري؟

    حاليًا يستخدم الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية كأسلوب روتيني لتلقيح البويضات في أكثر من 90% من الأزواج الذين يمرون بالتلقيح الصناعي. و تشمل هذه الحالات- وهي جزء من عوامل العقم لدى الذكور- العقم غير المفسر أو عمر الأم المتقدم أو محاولة سابقة فاشلة لعملية أطفال الأنابيب وغيرها من الأسباب الأخرى.

    ويتم تخصيب حوالي 70-85% من البويضات المحقونة بالحيوانات المنوية في عملية الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية؛ ومع ذلك فإن النتيجة النهائية للحقن المجهري تعتمد على ظروف حالتك الشخصية. وتعتبر سلامة الكروموسومات للحيوانات المنوية المستخدمة وعمر الأم هما العاملان الرئيسان المسئولان عن النتائج السلبية. وعادةً تُظهر النساء الأصغر سنًا نسبة عالية من نجاح الحمل باستخدام الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية ولكن ينخفض بشكل كبير مع النساء اللاتي فوق سن 45.

    إذا كان لديك المزيد من الأسئلة حول الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية يمكن لأطبائنا المتخصصين توفير المزيد من المعلومات لك ومناقشة جميع الخيارات المتاحة اعتمادًا على ظروف حالتك الشخصية.