IUI

Intra-Uterine Insemination, or IUI, is sometimes recommended as a simpler and more affordable starting point for fertility treatment.

  • What is IUI?

    It is the direct placement of a ‘clean’ preparation of sperm through the neck of the womb (cervix) and into the uterus during ovulation.

  • Who can benefit from IUI?

    It has been traditionally used on couples with in fertility due to an ovulation, cervical factor, and unexplained infertility (cases for which we cannot find / define the cause(s) of inability to conceive naturally).

    IUI is recommended for cases of hostile cervical mucus or endometriosis in women and slightly poor sperm quantity / quality in men.

    It can also be used when semen has been frozen due to husband’s absence, or before a damaging treatment, such as chemotherapy and radiotherapy.

  • How is IUI done?

    This procedure is performed by a doctor. The sperm preparation (following sperm collection) is placed in a flexible sterile tube (catheter) and introduced through the vagina and cervix into the uterus. It is a relatively painless procedure that may cause some mild cramping and/or discomfort. The majority of times, however, it is painless and very well tolerated.

    Immediately after IUI, which takes around 5 minutes, your doctor will ask you to lie down for another 5 minutes. After this very short time, you can resume your normal activities as long as they do not involve strenuous activities.

    IUI can be performed during a natural cycle or with artificial hormone stimulation (ovulation induction). Usually it is done with ovulation induction treatment, to increase pregnancy rates. In cases of an ovulatory infertility, ovulation induction is mandatory.

  • How successful can IUI be?

    The success of IUI varies and depends on the underlying cause(s) of infertility for a couple. Pregnancy rates after a single IUI attempt are not high and it is not uncommon for more IUI cycles to be performed. As an average, pregnancy rates after IUI are 15%, ranging from 5% (in some cases of unexplained infertility) to 35% (an ovulatory infertility).

    After three IUI procedures, 50-60% of all women are pregnant.

  • How many IUI attempts are recommended?

    Patients who have not been pregnant after three attempts are encouraged to undergo In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) or Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI). Statistically, IUI pregnancies occur after three attempts, and if this not the case, your chances of success with IUI after the third time are minimal.

    If you undergo more than three unsuccessful IUI attempts, we re-evaluate the situation and recommend an alternative treatment strategy at a follow-up consultation.

التلقيح داخل الرحم

التلقيح داخل الرحم أو IUI, ويُوصى به في بعض الأحيان كنقطة إنطلاق بسيطة وبأسعار معقولة لعلاج الخصوبة.

  • ماهو التلقيح داخل الرحم؟

    هو وضع الحيوانات المنوية التي تم إعدادها وتطهيرها مباشرة عبر عنق الرحم وإلى داخل الرحم أثناء التبويض.

  • من الذي يمكنه الاستفادة من التلقيح داخل الرحم؟

    ينطبق التلقيح داخل الرحم تقليديًا على الأزواج المصابين بالعقم بسبب عدم الإباضة وعامل عنق الرحم و العقم غير المفسر (الحالات التي لا يمكن أن نجد/نحدد سبب (أسباب) عدم القدرة على الحمل بشكل طبيعي).

    ويوصى بالتلقيح داخل الرحم لحالات مخاطية عنق الرحم غير السليمة أو انتباذ بطانة الرحم في النساء والحيوانات المنوية الضعيفة قليلا في كميتها وجودتها للرجال.

    ويمكن أن يستخدم التلقيح داخل الرحم أيضا عندما يتم تجميد السائل المنوي أو قبل العلاج الضار مثل العلاج الكيميائي والعلاج الإشعاعي.

  • كيف يتم إجراء التلقيح داخل الرحم؟

    يتم تنفيذ هذا الإجراء على يد أحد الأطباء حيث يتم وضع الحيوانات المنوية المُعدة مسبقًا (بعد جمع الحيوانات المنوية) في أنبوب معقم مرن (القسطرة) وتُدخل من خلال المهبل وعنق الرحم إلى داخل الرحم. وهو إجراء غير مؤلم نسبيًا قد يسبب بعض التشنج المعتدل و/أو الإحساس بعدم الراحة. وعلى الرغم من ذلك في غالبية الأحيان يكون غير مؤلم ويمكن تحمله بشكل جيد جدًا.

    على الفور بعد التلقيح داخل الرحم, والذي يستغرق تقريبًا 5 دقائق, سوف يطلب منك طبيبك الاستلقاء لمدة 5 دقائق أخرى. وبعد هذا الوقت القصير جدًا يمكنك استئناف أنشطتك العادية طالما أنها لا تتضمن الأنشطة الشاقة.

    يمكن تنفيذ التلقيح داخل الرحم أثناء الدورة الطبيعية للأباضة أو عن طريق التحفيز بالهرمون الصناعي (التحريض على الإباضة). وعادةً ما يتم ذلك عن طريق العلاج بالتحريض على الإباضة وذلك لزيادة نسبة الحمل. في حالات العقم اللاإباضية, يكون التحريض على الإباضة إجباريًا.

  • إلى أي مدى يمكن أن يكون التلقيح داخل الرحم ناجحًا؟

    يختلف نجاح التلقيح داخل الرحم ويعتمد على السبب (الأسباب) الرئيسي لعقم الزوجين. إن معدلات الحمل بعد محاولة تلقيح واحدة داخل الرحم ليست عالية وشائعة بالنسبة للمزيد من دورات التلقيح داخل الرحم التي يتعين القيام بها. تصل معدلات الحمل بعد التلقيح داخل الرحم إلى 15% وتتراوح ما بين 5% (في بعض حالات العقم غير المفسر) إلى 35 % (عقم غياب الإباضة).

    بعد ثلاثة إجراءات من التلقيح داخل الرحم، تصبح نسبة 50-60 % من إجمالي النساء حوامل.

  • كم عدد محاولات التلقيح داخل الرحم التي ينصح بها؟

    ويتم تشجيع المرضى اللاتي لم يحصلن بعد ثلاث محاولات على حمل على الخضوع لعملية أطفال الأنابيب أو الحقن المجهري للحيوانات للبويضات (ICSI). وإحصائيًا تحدث حالات حمل التلقيح داخل الرحم بعد ثلاث محاولات. وإذا لم يكن هذا هو الحال ففرصتك في نجاح التلقيح داخل الرحم بعد المرة الثالثة تكاد تصل إلى أدنى ما يمكن.

    في حال خضعتِ لثلاث محاولات غير ناجحة من التلقيح داخل الرحم, نعيد تقييم الحالة وننصح باستراتيجية علاج بديلة في الاستشارة اللاحقة.