IVF minimal stimulation

In-Vitro Fertilization with minimal stimulation, or mini-IVF, involves lower doses of fertility drugs and is recommended to couples that their individual circumstances are relatively uncomplicated and their prognosis is good.

  • What is mini-IVF?

    In mini-IVF, like in conventional IVF, fertility drugs are used for ovarian stimulation, but at a much lower dose. As a result, more than one egg is produced in a cycle (about 3-6 eggs), but not as many with full IVF (normally around 8-12 eggs).

    Other than the fertility medication, mini-IVF is the same as the conventional IVF. The eggs are collected, mixed with sperm in a dish, and placed in an incubator for fertilization. Depending on the number of fertilized eggs, up to three (in some cases) of the best quality early embryos are selected and transferred back in the womb.

  • Who can benefit from a mini-IVF?

    Mini-IVF may be the option for women that have a low ovarian reserve (low capacity of producing eggs), and because of that had a previous unsuccessful attempt with conventional IVF (higher doses of fertility drugs did not result in many more eggs being produced after a cycle). But also, it may be the option for women that have a good ovarian reserve, but do not want to freeze their extra eggs.

    In addition, mini-IVF may be more suited to women that are at risk of developing Ovarian Hyper-Stimulation Syndrome (OHSS), due to sensitivity of the injectable hormones of the full-cycle IVF.

    Mini-IVF is a less risky and costly procedure compared to IVF, as it involves lower doses of drugs. It also requires fewer visits in our AAFC facilities than a conventional IVF. If you considering a mini-IVF, discuss with one of our consultants, who will assess whether your individual circumstances qualify for this type of Assisted Reproductive Technique (ART).

  • How is mini-IVF done?

    A mini-IVF cycle involves exactly the same steps as a conventional IVF with the only difference being the dosage of the fertility drugs for ovarian stimulation. We monitor production of the eggs and progression of their maturation stage with ultrasound transvaginal scans and through blood testing.

    Mini ovarian stimulation: Taking advantage of your natural Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH) elevation, and using low doses of orally-received hormone pills, a small number of good quality eggs can be produced. This strategy may be implemented by one low-dose injection of gonadotropin, while the final maturation stage of your eggs, as in conventional IVF, is triggered with a human chorionic gonadotropin (hCG) injection. Our aim is to obtain 3-6 eggs.

    For completion of this stage of mini-IVF, 2-3 visits may be required to our facilities in AAFC.

    The rest of the steps, egg collection, sperm collection, fertilization, embryo transfer, first pregnancy test and ultrasound scan are performed exactly the same as in the traditional IVF.

  • What is the success rate of a mini-IVF?

    With mini-IVF, as fewer eggs are available, the chances of conceiving and having a baby can be lower than with conventional IVF.

    However, if 2-3 of your eggs become fertilized and progress in good quality embryos that are transferred to your womb, then the success rate of a mini-IVF will not be different to the conventional IVF. The only difference, in this case, is that you may not have a surplus of eggs that can be frozen for later use.

    If you would like to be considered for a mini-IVF, please discuss it with one of our specialist doctors, who can consult you further based on your individual circumstances.

الحد الأدنى من التحفيز لعملية أطفال الأنابيب

يستلزم التلقيح الصناعي (أطفال الأنابيب) بالحد الأدنى من المحفزات أو التلقيح الصناعي المصغر جرعات أقل من أدوية الخصوبة ويوصى به للأزواج الذين حالتهم الفردية غير معقدة نسبيًا واحتمالية شفائهم بعد العلاج جيدة.

  • ما هو التلقيح الصناعي المصغر؟

    في التلقيح الصناعي المصغر, كما هو الحال في التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي, تستخدم أدوية الخصوبة لتحفيز المبيض ولكن بجرعة أقل بكثير. لذلك يتم إنتاج أكثر من بويضة واحدة في الدورة (حوالي 3 – 6 بويضات), ولكن ليست كثيرة كما هو الحال مع التلقيح الصناعي الكامل (عادة حوالي 8 – 12 بويضة).

    بخلاف دواء الخصوبة يعتبر التلقيح الصناعي المصغر هو ذاته التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي. يتم جمع البويضات ويخلط مع الحيوانات المنوية في طبق ويوضع في حاضنة للإخصاب. واعتمادًا على عدد البويضات المخصبة التي تصل إلى ثلاث بويضات (في بعض الحالات) يتم اختيار الأجنة المبكرة ذات النوعية الأفضل ونقلها مرة أخرى إلى الرحم.

  • من الذي يمكنه الاستفادة من التلقيح الصناعي المصغر؟

    قد يكون التلقيح الصناعي المصغر هو الخيار للمرأة التي لديها احتياطي مبيضي منخفض (انخفاض القدرة على إنتاج البيض) وبسبب ذلك كان لها محاولة سابقة غير ناجحة مع التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي (الجرعات العالية من أدوية الخصوبة لا تؤدي إلى الكثير من البويضات التي يتم إنتاجها بعد كل دورة). ولكن يمكن أن يكون أيضًا خيارًا للمرأة التي لديها احتياطي المبيض جيد, ولكنها لا تريد تجميد البويضات الإضافية.

    بالإضافة إلى ذلك قد يكون التلقيح الصناعي المصغر أكثر ملاءمةً للنساء اللاتي يتعرضن لخطر تطور ﻣﺘﻼﺯﻣﺔ ﻓﺮﻁ ﺍﻻﺳﺘﺜﺎﺭﺓ ﺍلمبيضية (OHSS) وذلك بسبب حساسية هرمونات الدورة الكاملة للتلقيح الصناعي القابلة للحقن.

    التلقيح الصناعي المصغر هو إجراء أقل خطورة وتكلفة مقارنة بالتلقيح الصناعي العادي كما أنه يتضمن جرعات أدوية أقل. كما يتطلب أيضًا عدد زيارات أقل لمنشأتنا في مركز العين للإخصاب عن التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي. إذا كنت تفكر في التلقيح الصناعي المصغر فتناقش مع أحد مستشارينا الذي سيقيم ما إذا كانت حالتك تستدعي هذا النوع من وسائل التخصيب المساعد (ART).

  • كيف يتم القيام بالتلقيح الصناعي المصغر؟

    تتضمن دورة التلقيح الصناعي المصغر نفس الخطوات كدورة التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي مع الفارق الوحيد ألا وهو جرعة أدوية الإخصاب لتحفيز المبيض. نحن نراقب إنتاج البويضات وتطور مرحلة النضج بالمسح بالموجات فوق الصوتية عن طريق المهبل ومن خلال فحص الدم.

    تنشيط المبيض المصغر: الاستفادة من تقييم هرمون منبه للجريب الطبيعي الخاص بك, واستخدام جرعات منخفضة من حبيبات الهرمون عن طريق الفم, يمكن إنتاج عدد قليل من البويضات ذات الجودة العالية. ويمكن تنفيذ هذه الاستراتيجية عن طريق حقن جرعة منخفضة واحدة من هرمون غونادوتروبين (وهو هرومون منشط للغدد التناسلية), في حين أن مرحلة النضج النهائية لبويضاتك - كما في التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي- تحفزت بحقن هرمون غونادوتروبين المشيمي البشري (HCG). وهدفنا هو الحصول على 3-6 بويضات.

    لإتمام هذه المرحلة من التلقيح الصناعي المصغر, قد يستلزم الأمر 2-3 زيارة لمركز العين للإخصاب.

    يتم تنفيذ باقي الخطوات: جمع البويضات وجمع الحيوانات المنوية والتلقيح ونقل الجنين واختبار الحمل والمسح بالموجات فوق صوتية- تمامًا كما هو الحال في عملية التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي.

  • ما هو معدل نجاح التلقيح الصناعي المصغر؟

    بالنسبة للتلقيح الصناعي المصغر؛ عندما يتاح عدد أقل من البويضات فإن فرص الحمل وإنجاب الطفل يمكن أن تكون أقل من فرص التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي.

    ومع ذلك إذا تم تلقيح 2-3 من بويضاتك ونمت لتصبح أجنة ذات جودة جيدة فإنه يتم نقلها إلى الرحم؛ ومن ثم لن يختلف معدل نجاح التلقيح الصناعي المصغر عن معدل التلقيح الصناعي التقليدي. إن الإختلاف الوحيد في هذه الحالة هو أنك قد لا يكون لديك فائضًا من البويضات التي يمكن تجميدها لاستخدامها لاحقًا.

    إذا كنت ترغبين في التلقيح الصناعي المصغر يُرجى مناقشة هذا الموضوع مع أحد أطبائنا المتخصصين الذي يمكن أن ينصحك بالمزيد بناءً على الأحوال الفردية الخاصة بك.