IVF natural cycle

IVF_Natural_CycleIn-Vitro Fertilization after a natural cycle (IVF-natural cycle) is recommended to women that have a low capacity of producing eggs or to women that cannot follow a drug-heavy fertility treatment due to a medical or social reason.

  • What is IVF-natural cycle?

    A natural-cycle IVF does not involve ovarian stimulation. Instead, we collect the one egg that you normally release in your menstrual cycle and fertilize it with sperm in vitro (in a dish), and if successful, we transfer it back in your womb. Some hormonal support may be required around the egg collection time, or during the second half of your menstrual cycle (luteal phase) when implantation may occur, but no other fertility drugs are used in a natural cycle of IVF.

  • Who can benefit from a natural cycle of IVF?

    IVF-natural cycle can benefit women that have a low ovarian reserve (low capacity of producing eggs). In some cases, patients with low ovarian reserve have only one ovarian sac, or follicle, for egg production. So, despite ovarian stimulation only one egg can be produced due to the lack of follicles.

    Further, it is recommended to women that are unable to take fertility drugs. For instance, women who may have overcome a form of cancer.

    Additionally, IVF-natural cycle is recommended to couples, who object to have an excess of eggs stored or potentially destroyed.

  • How is IVF-natural cycle done?

    An IVF-natural cycle is the same as an IVF cycle without the fertility drugs that increase ovarian stimulation. We monitor the production of the egg and progression of its maturation with ultrasound transvaginal scans. Hormone levels may also be checked through a blood test.

    Egg collection: With minimal hormone support (just injection of the human chronic gonadotropin (hCG), for egg final maturation), we adjust the timing of the ovulation and schedule the egg collection.

    This is performed by a doctor, with the use of a fine, hollow needle using ultrasound guidance and conscious sedation for prevention of any discomfort. Unlike IVF, none or only a short recovery time may be required, after which you can return to your daily activities as normal.

    Sperm collection is performed exactly the same way as for the conventional IVF.

    Fertilization and embryo transfer: After the first day of combining your egg and the sperm in a dish, the embryologist performs a microscopic examination to check whether fertilization has occurred. If an early embryo is detected, it will be monitored (conventional microscopy / EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging system) up to the stage of 2-3-day embryo, or up to the blastocyst stage, depending on your individual circumstances, and then transferred in your womb.

    Embryo transfer is performed by a doctor, under ultrasound guidance and the use of a fine tube (catheter) that delivers the embryo back into the womb. It is normally a pain-free step that takes about 5 minutes to complete without the need for anesthesia or recovery time.

    The risks with an IVF-natural cycle are much lower, as any side effects from fertility drugs, and the chance of conceiving duplets or triplets are avoided.

    Pregnancy test and first pregnancy scan: Approximately, after 14 days of embryo transfer a pregnancy test checking whether your IVF-natural cycle has been successful will be performed. A positive outcome will be followed up by an ultrasound transvaginal scan, performed by one of our specialists.

  • What is the success rate of an IVF-natural cycle?

    IVF-natural cycle is not a first-choice assisted reproductive technique, as it has a very low rate of success. With this method, your ability to become pregnant is not artificially enhanced (by fertility drugs), and therefore its success relies entirely on your individual circumstances.

    In 80% of the cases, we are able to collect the egg, but in 20% of patients there is no egg after egg collection. Fertilization normally happens in around 80% of the collected eggs. Further, from the fertilized eggs, around 20% of them become arrested during one of the cleavage stages. So, at the end, women that have one embryo that progressed normally and transferred to their womb may become pregnant, but this will also depend on their age, medical and fertility history.

    Overall, an IVF-natural cycle provides a success rate of approximately 5-10% per attempt.

عملية أطفال أنابيب بتلقيح بويضة منتجة من دورة طبيعية

IVF_Natural_Cycleويوصى بإجراء عملية أطفال أنابيب بعد الدورة الطبيعية للنساء اللاتي لديهن قدرة ضعيفة على إنتاج البويضات أو للنساء اللاتي لا يمكنهن اتباع علاج خصوبة به دواء قوي نتيجة لسبب طبي أو اجتماعي.

  • ما هي عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية؟

    لا تشمل عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية تنشيط المبايض. وبدلاً من ذلك نجمع البويضة الواحدة التي تقومين عادةً بإنتاجها في دورتك الشهرية ونقوم بتخصيبها بالحيوانات المنوية في المختبر (في طبق) وإذا نجحت ننقلها مرة أخرى لرحمك. قد يتطلب الأمر بعض الدعم الهرموني في وقت جمع البيض أو أثناء النصف الثاني من دورتك الشهرية (الطور الأصفري) عند إمكانية حدوث الزرع, ولكن لا يتم استخدام أية أدوية خصوبة أخرى في عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية.

  • من الذين يمكنهم الاستفادة من عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية؟

    يمكن أن تفيد عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية للنساء اللاتي احتياطي مبيضهن منخفض (انخفاض القدرة على إنتاج البيض). وفي بعض الحالات, يكون لدى المرضى الذين يعانون من انخفاض احتياطي المبيض كيس مبيضي واحد فقط أو جريب واحد فقط لإنتاج البيض. لذلك على الرغم من التنشيط المبيضي إلا أنه لا يمكن أن تنتج المبايض أكثر من بويضة واحدة فقط نظرًا لعدم وجود جربيات.

    وعلاوة على ذلك, فإنه يوصى بعملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية للنساء غير القادرات على أخذ أدوية الخصوبة. على سبيل المثال النساء اللواتي قد تغلبن على شكل من أشكال السرطان.

    بالإضافة لذلك, ينصح بعملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية للأزواج الذين يعارضون الزيادة في عدد البويضات المخزنة أو التي يُحتمل تدميرها.

  • كيف يمكن إجراء عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية ؟

    إن عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية هي نفس دورة التلقيح الصناعي ولكن بدون أدوية الخصوبة التي تُزيد من تنشيط المبيض. ونحن نراقب إنتاج البويضات وتطور نضجه عن طريق المسح بالموجات فوق الصوتية عبر المهبل. ويمكن أيضًا التحقق من مستويات الهرمون عن طريق فحص الدم.

    جمع البويضات:مع الحد الأدنى من الدعم الهرموني (الحقن فقط بهرمون  جونادوتروبين المشيمي البشري من أجل النضج النهائي للبويضة) علينا أن نعدل توقيت الإباضة وجدولة جمع البويضات.

    يتم تنفيذ ذلك عن طريق الطبيب باستخدام إبرة رفيعة مجوفة وذلك عن طريق التوجيه بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتخدير الواعي لمنع أي ألم. وعلى العكس من عملية أطفال الأنابيب فهي قد تحتاج إلى فترة نقاهة قصيرة فقط أو قد لا تحتاج بالمرة, وبعد ذلك يمكنك العودة إلى أنشطتك اليومية بشكل طبيعي.

    يتم القيام بجمع الحيوانات المنوية بنفس الطريقة تمامًا كما في عملية أطفال الأنابيب التقليدية.

    التلقيح ونقل الأجنة: بعد اليوم الأول من ضم بويضتك والحيوان المنوي في طبق, يقوم عالم الأجنة بالفحص المجهري للتحقق مما إذا كان قد حدث التلقيح. إذا تم الكشف عن جنين في مراحله الأولى, سوف يتم مراقبته (بالمجهر التقليدي او EmbryoScope®) حتى يصل إلى مرحلة جنين عمره 2 – 3 يوم أو حتى يصل إلى مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية, اعتمادًا على ظروفك الشخصية ثم ينقل إلى داخل رحمك.

    يقوم أحد الأطباء بنقل الأجنة, تحت توجيه الموجات فوق الصوتية واستخدام أنبوبة رفيعة (قسطرة) التي توصل الجنين إلى الرحم مرة أخرى. وهي خطوة عادية خالية من الألم التي تستغرق 5 دقائق للإكمال دون الحاجة لمخدر أو وقت للتعافي (فترة نقاهة).

    إن مخاطر عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية قليلة جدًا- مثل الآثار الجانبية لأدوية الخصوبة – وفيها يتم انعدام فرصة الحمل بتوأم أو ثلاثة توائم.

    اختبار الحمل وفحص الحمل الأول: بعد 14 يومًا تقريبًا من نقل الجنين سيتم إجراء اختبار الحمل بمعرفة ما إذا كانت عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية قد نجحت. وسيعقب الفحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية عبر المهبل, الذي يقوم به أحد المتخصصين لدينا نتائج إيجابية.

  • ما هو معدل نجاح عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية؟

    عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية ليست الاختيار الأول من وسائل الإنجاب المساعدة، لأن نسبة نجاحها منخفضة جدًا. وبهذه الطريقة تصبح قدرتك على الحمل معززة أو مدعومة صناعيًا (عن طريق أدوية الخصوبة), وبالتالي يعتمد نجاحها كليا على ظروفك الشخصية.

    في 80% من الحالات نكون قادرين على جمع البويضات ولكن في 20% من المرضى لا يصبح هناك أية بويضات بعد العملية. ويحدث التلقيح عادةً في حوالي 80% من البويضات الذي تم جمعها. علاوة على ذلك, حوالي 20 % من البويضات الملقحة تصبح محتجزة خلال إحدى مراحل الانقسام. لذلك ففي نهاية المطاف قد تصبح المرأة - التي لديها جنين ينمو طبيعيًا ثم يُنقل إلى رحمها- حاملاً, ولكن هذا يعتمد أيضًا على عمرها والتاريخ الطبي والخصوبة.

    وبشكل عام توفر عملية أطفال الأنابيب في الدورة الطبيعية نسبة نجاح حوالي 5-10% لكل محاولة.