Mock Embryo Transfer

Mock embryo transfer can be used with a number of Assisted Reproductive Techniques (ART) and is recommended for the preparation of effective embryo transfer.

  • What is a mock embryo transfer?

    During this procedure, we mimic embryo transfer, by using an empty catheter (the fine tube used for the delivery of embryos). In effect, a mock embryo transfer is a trial run that establishes the optimal position for placement of the embryo(s) in your uterus.

    The aim of a mock embryo transfer is to collect information about the specifics of your uterus and to check the ‘route’ that will be followed for reaching the uterine cavity. In that way, when the time for the transfer of the actual embryo comes, we can do it quickly and successfully.

  • Who may need a mock embryo transfer?

    Mock embryo transfer is particularly useful for women with a history of difficult and / or unsuccessful embryo transfers. Also it is recommended to women that have an altered physiology due, for instance, a surgery in the cervix that left them with a narrower passage (cervical stenosis).

  • How is a mock embryo transfer done?

    It is performed by a doctor, exactly like an embryo transfer, but without the embryo(s). Briefly, your doctor, guided by ultrasound imaging, inserts a catheter through your cervix and into the uterus. Some images and measurements are recorded, forming the instructions that the doctor will follow on the day of the actual embryo transfer.

    It is normally a pain-free step that takes about 5-10 minutes to complete without the need for anesthesia or recovery time. You will be able to return to your daily activities as normally.

  • How does a mock embryo transfer contribute to the success of ARTs?

    An efficient delivery of the early embryo(s) in the uterus is a very critical step for the overall success of a natural-cycle, minimal-stimulation or traditional In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) with or without Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI). Past experiences have shown that the embryos cannot be transferred at any part of the uterus, there is an optimal location. Practicing with a mock embryo transfer can determine this spot improving your chances of a live birth.

النقل الوهمي للأجنة

يمكن القيام بإجراء عملية إرجاع الأجنة الوهمي بعدد من وسائل الإخصاب المساعد (ART) كما يوصى بها من أجل التحضير لنقل ناجح للجنين.

  • ما هي عملية إرجاع الأجنة؟

    خلال هذا الإجراء نقوم بمحاكة عملية نقل الجنين باستخدام قسطرة (أنبوب أجوف يستخدم لاستقبال المولود). وفي الواقع تعتبر عملية ترجيع الجنين إجراءً تجريبيًا يحدد الوضع الأمثل لاستبدال الجنين (الأجنة) في رحمك.

    والهدف من عملية إرجاع الأجنة هذه جمع المعلومات عن تفاصيل رحمك وتفقُّد "الطريق" الذي سنتبعه للوصول إلى تجويف الرحم. وبهذه الطريقة، عندما يحين موعد عملية نقل الجنين الفعلية فإنه يمكننا القيام بذلك بسرعة وبنجاح.

  • من اللاتي قد يحتجن إلى عملية نقل الأجنة الوهمي؟

    إن عملية نقل الأجنة الوهمي مفيدة وخصوصًا للنساء اللاتي لديهن تاريخًا من العمليات الصعبة و/أو غير الناجحة لنقل الأجنة. كما يوصى بها للسيدات اللاتي حدث لهن تغيرات في وظائف بعض الأعضاء نتيجةً - على سبيل المثال- لعملية جراحية في عنق الرحم تركت ممره أضيق (تضيق عنق الرحم).

  • كيف يتم إجراء عملية نقل الأجنة الوهمي؟

    يقوم طبيب ما بإجراء هذه العملية - بالضبط مثل عملية نقل الأجنة - ولكن من دون الجنين (الأجنة). وباختصار يسترشد طبيبك بالتصوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية مُدخلاً القسطرة خلال عنق الرحم وإلى داخل الرحم. وتُسجَّل بعض الصور والقياسات والتي بدورها تشكل الإرشادات التي سيتبعها الطبيب في يوم عملية نقل الأجنة الفعلي.

    ومن الطبيعي أن تكون هناك خطوة خالية من الألم تستغرق حوالي 5-10 دقائق لإكمالها دون الحاجة للتخدير أو إلى وقت للإفاقة. وسوف تكوني قادرةً على العودة إلى نشاطاتك اليومية بشكل طبيعي.

  • كيف تساهم عملية نقل الأجنة الوهمي في نجاح وسائل الإخصاب المساعد؟

    إن عملية وضع جنين (أجنة) أوليّ في الرحم هي خطوة في غاية الأهمية من أجل نجاح شامل لدورة طبيعية أو التحفيز الأدنى أو عملية أطفال الأنابيب التقليدية (IVF) مع أو بدون  حقن الحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية (الحقن المجهري). وقد أظهرت التجارب السابقة أن الأجنة لا يمكن نقلها إلى أي جزء من الرحم، وإنما هناك المكان الأمثل لذلك. ويمكن لإجراء نقل الأجنة الوهمي تحديد هذه البقعة التي تحسن وتزيد من فرصك في ولادة طفل حي.