Single embro transfer (eSET)

An elective Single Embro Transfer or eSET, as part of an In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF) with or without Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI), is recommended in cases where a multiple pregnancy is a risky choice for the health of the expectant mother and developing embryos.

  • What is eSET?

    In eSET, ‘elective’ means that we select only one embryo – the best one –for transfer in the womb. After IVF with or without ICSI, a couple may end up with more than one good quality embryos that can be transferred. Common practice has included transferring at least two, as the higher number of embryos offers a better chance for a successful implantation.

    However, with improvement of culture methods and media, the transfer of one embryo as compared to more than one embryo, has shown almost equally high success rates*. So, depending on your individual circumstances, we will account for the risks of a multiple pregnancy, without just maximizing your implantation chances.

  • Who can benefit from eSET?

    An eSET is beneficial for women with a good prognosis for pregnancy with IVF and who are younger than 30 years of age.

    Additionally, for women that undergo IVF with or without ICSI for the first time, or already had a successful first outcome.

    Also, for women that have a good number of embryos, which can be considered for the selective, or elective, part of the procedure.

    An eSET is also highly recommended to women that are predisposed in developing pregnancy complications / conditions (for instance pre-eclampsia, gestational diabetes) and / or have a history of premature delivery. A multiple pregnancy can significantly increase the chance of such complications / conditions, even if there is no such pre-disposition. Premature babies may be at a risk of developing some short term or long term conditions (for instance cerebral palsy, gastrointestinal and lung problems).

  • How is eSET done?

    An eSET can be performed either at 2-3-day stage embryo or at the stage of blastocyst. But usually, the blastocyst stage is preferred, as the more developed the embryos are, the better the embryo selection process is.

    The best embryo selection is done by our embryologists, who study the morphological features of the early embryos ideally through the use of the EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging system, rather than conventional microscopy. With the EmbryoScope® system, our embryologists have access to each programmed cell division that takes place in the initial stages of development, and based on that information, they assess all embryos in detail and precisely select the best one.

    The rest of the procedure is not different from any other embryo transfer. A mock embryo transfer for improving the efficiency of your single embryo transfer, as well as the use of Implantation Support Medium Transfer (ISMT) for increasing the chances of implantation can also be employed prior eSET.

  • How does eSET contribute in the success of assisted reproductive techniques?

    eSET is associated with high rates of live births. In studies*, where elective single embryo was compared with more than one embryo transfers, eSET was shown to be almost as efficient as the latter. The slightly lower success of eSET can be explained by the fact that this method is often offered to women that are not always the best candidates for it (for instance, because they are older or had a previous failed IVF).
    If you are considering an eSET as part of your IVF, our specialists can advise you on the best option for you particular circumstances.

  • What happens if there is only one embryo available for embryo transfer?

    If you have only one embryo after IVF, then selection cannot take place, as it cannot be elective. This sole embryo is the only choice and is transferred in the womb.

    References

    * Gardner DK, Surrey E, Minjarez D, Leitz A, Stevens J, Schoolcraft WB (2004). Single blastocyst transfer: a prospective randomized trial. FertilSteril. 81(3): 551-5. (PMID: 15037401)

    Davis OK (2004).Elective single-embryo transfer--has its time arrived? N Engl J Med. 351(23):2440-2. (PMID:15575063)

نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب (eSET)

ينصح بعملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET)( -ناتج من عملية أطفال الأنابيب اما بالطريقة التقليدية (IVF) أو بتقنية الحقن المجهري للبويضة بحيوان منوي واحد (ICSI) - في الحالات التي يكون فيها الحمل المتعدد هو خيار محفوف بالمخاطر على صحة الأم الحامل ونمو الأجنة.

  • ما هي عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET؟

    الهدف الرئيسي هو نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET، "الانتخاب" يعني أن نختار جنينًا واحدًا فقط - أفضل جنين - لننقله في الرحم. في أغلب المحاولات باستخدام التقنيات المساعدة على الأنجاب ، قد ينتهي الأمر بالزوجين إلى وجود أكثر من جنين واحد بنوعية جيدة قابلة للترجيع لرحم الأم. وما يشيع القيام به في هذه الحالات نقل اثنين على الأقل حيث أن أكبر عدد من الأجنة يوفر فرصة أفضل لعملية زرع ناجحة.

    ومع ذلك، وفي ظل تحسن أساليب الغرس وانتقاء الوسط المناسب، فإن عملية نقل جنين واحد مقارنة بعملية نقل أكثر من جنين قد أظهرت معدلات نجاح* عالية بشكل متساوٍ تقريبًا. ولذلك، تبعًا لظروفك الخاصة، سوف نتحمل مسئولية مخاطر الحمل المتعدد، دون تضخيم فرص نجاح زرع الجنين في رحمك.

  • من الذين يمكنهن الاستفادة من عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET؟

    إن عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب مفيدة للنساء اللاتي لديهن فرصة عالية للحمل بمساعدة التقنيات المساعدة على الأنجاب واللاتي تقل أعمارهن عن 30 عامًا.و بالأخص اذا كانت هذه المحاولة الأولى، أو إذا كانت نتائجها الأولى في المحاولة/المحاولات السابقة ناجحة.

    كما يوصى بإجراء نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET بشدة للنساء اللاتي هن عُرضةً لتطور مضاعفات الحمل/وظروفه (على سبيل المثال حالات تسمم الحمل وسكري الحمل) و/أو لديهن تاريخ من الولادة المبكرة. ويمكن للحمل المتعدد أن يزيد بشكل كبير من فرص حدوث مثل هذه المضاعفات/الحالات المرضية، حتى إذا لم يكن هناك مثل هذا التعرض والميل للمضاعفات وغيرها. وقد يكون الأطفال الخدج "المبتسرين" في خطر لتطور بعض الحالات المرضية قصيرة المدى أو طويلة المدى (على سبيل المثال الشلل الدماغي، ومشاكل المعدة والأمعاء والجهاز الهضمي ومشاكل الرئة).

  • كيف يتم إجراء نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET؟

    يمكن إجراء نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب إما في مرحلة الجنين وهو عمره 2-3 أيام أو في مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية. ولكن عادةً ما يُفضل في مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية، وكلما نمت الأجنة وتطورت كانت عملية اختيار الجنين أفضل.

    ويتم اختيار أفضل الأجنة عن طريق علماء الأجنة لدينا، والذين يدرسون الميزات التركيبية والشكلية للأجنة المبكرة بشكل مثالي من خلال استخدام نظام تصوير الأجنة بشكل متتابع EmbryoScope® بدلاً من الفحص المجهري التقليدي. وفي ظل استخدام نظام EmbryoScope® استطاع علماء الأجنة لدينا الوصول إلى كل انقسام خلوي مبرمج يحدث في المراحل الأولية من النمو والتطور، وبناءً على هذه المعلومات، استطاعوا تقييم جميع الأجنة بالتفصيل وحددوا بدقة الجنين الأفضل.

    ولا تختلف باقي الإجراءات كثيرًا عن أي عملية نقل أجنة أخرى؛ حيث يمكن أيضًا إجراء عملية نقل الأجنة الوهمية لتحسين كفاءة عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب، فضلاً عن استخدام نقل وسط داعم للزرع (ISMT) لزيادة فرص الزرع قبل إجراء عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET.

  • كيف تساهم عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET في نجاح وسائل الخصاب المساعد؟

    وترتبط عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET بارتفاع معدلات ولادة أطفال أحياء. في بعض الدراسات*، حيث تمت مقارنة جنين فردي الانتخاب بأكثر من عملية نقل جنين واحد، تبين أن عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET في مثل كفاءة هذه الأخيرة. ويرجع سبب النجاح الأقل بقليل لعملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب eSET إلى حقيقة أن هذه الطريقة غالبًا ما يتم تقديمها للمرأة التي ليست دائمًا أفضل المرشحين لها (على سبيل المثال، لأنها أكبر سنًا أو مرت بعملية أطفال أنابيب سابقة فاشلة).

    إذا كنتِ تنظرين إلى عملية نقل جنين فردي الانتخاب ESET على أنها جزء من عملية أطفال الأنابيب الخاصة بك، فيمكنك الاستماع إلى المتخصصين لدينا حيث يسدونك النصح حول الخيار الأفضل المناسب لظروفك الخاصة.

  • ماذا يحدث إذا كان هناك جنين واحد فقط متاح للنقل؟

    إذا كان لديك جنين واحد فقط بعد عملية أطفال الأنابيب، فليس هناك مجال للاختيار وليس هناك جنين آخر ليُنتقى أحدهما، فهذا الجنين الوحيد هو الخيار الأوحد ليُنقل إلى الرحم.

    المراجع

    Gardner DK, Surrey E, Minjarez D, Leitz A, Stevens J, Schoolcraft WB (2004). Single blastocyst transfer: a prospective randomized trial. Fertil Steril. 81(3): 551-5. (PMID: 15037401)

    Davis OK (2004). Elective single-embryo transfer--has its time arrived? N Engl J Med. 351(23): 2440-2. (PMID:15575063)