Blastocyst transfer

Blastocyst transfer allows selection of the best quality embryo(s) for transfer in the womb and therefore, it is recommended as a means of improving pregnancy chances.

  • What is blastocyst transfer?

    Blastocysts are embryos that have been cultured in the laboratory incubator for 5-6 days after In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF) with or without Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI).

    Blastocyst-stage embryos have grown further, consisting of many more cells. Compared to the 2-3-day embryos, they have a thinner outer protective layer, or ‘shell’, which can ease their attachment, or implantation, to the uterine wall upon transfer.

    While the majority of fertilized eggs, about 50%, will develop into a 3-day old embryo, only perhaps 40% of these embryos will develop into a blastocyst. These percentages become even lower in women older than 40 years of age. The embryos that do not make it to day 6, may bear a chromosomal or genetic defect, and if they had been transferred in the womb after 2-3 days, they would have failed to implant.

    Therefore, allowing early embryos to reach the stage of blastocysts selects for the best embryos, the ones with a higher chance of establishing a pregnancy.

  • Who can benefit from blastocyst transfer?

    Blastocyst transfer is beneficial for women that will have enough good quality embryos after IVF with or without ICSI. Ideally, if there are 3 or more embryos in day 5, the one(s) that have the best appearance, or morphology, will be selected for embryo transfer.

    A blastocyst transfer is also beneficial for younger women with a good prognosis for pregnancy with IVF.

    Additionally, blastocyst transfer may be a particularly useful option if there is a previous history of multiple pregnancy or a uterine anomaly, and if it is the personal choice of the patient to undergo an elective Single Embryo Transfer (eSET).

    If you have experienced repeated implantation failure, extended culture of your early embryos allows us to examine their number and quality over a longer period. Identifying the percentage of embryos with halted growth or other abnormal characteristics may help to identify a potential problem. In these cases, culturing the embryos for 5 days, it also gives us the time to check for any genetic or chromosomal abnormalities with Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) and / or Preimplantation Genetic Screening (PGS).

  • How is blastocyst transfer done?

    This procedure is performed by one of our doctors. It is like any other embryo transfer and takes about 5 minutes to complete without the need for anesthesia or recovery time. The experience will be similar to the mock embryo transfer performed at the start of the IVF cycle.

  • How  does  blastocyst  transfer  contribute  to  the  success  of  assisted reproductive techniques?

    Blastocyst transfer is associated with a high live birth rate. Waiting up to the blastocyst stage assesses the survival of the early embryo, which can be particularly advantageous for certain cases.

    Normally, it is recommended that more than one embryo, either at the stage of 2-3 days or at the blastocyst stage, is transferred to the womb, as a means of increasing pregnancy chances. Research and experience have shown that in women under 35 years of age, single blastocyst transfer has the same success rate of a live birth as the transfer of more than one blastocyst. A single transfer can be a much safer option, as the risks of a multiple pregnancy are avoided. A single blastocyst, however, can still split after transfer leading to duplets.

    In any case, you will discuss with your doctor about the number of embryos to be transferred, as this decision depends on many factors, including number of available embryos, their quality and your individual circumstances.

    Despite the good results of blastocyst transfer, you need to remember that not all couples are eligible for it and that your particular history or situation may affect the outcome.

نقل الكيسة الأريمية

 زراعة و مراقبة الأجنة في حاضنات في مختبر أطفال الأنابيب لمرحلة الكيسة الأريمية يساعد باختيار أفضل الأجنة لنقلها إلى الرحم، ولذلك يوصى بهذه الطريقة كوسيلة لتحسين فرص الحمل.

  • ما هو نقل الكيسة الأريمية؟

    الأكياس الأريمية هي أجنة زرعت في حاضنات بالمختبر لمدة 5-6 أيام بعد التخصيب بالمختبر مع الحقن المجهري (ICSI) أو بطريقة التخصيب الصناعي الكلاسيكية(IVF).

    تطور الأجنة  لمرحلة الكيسة الأريمية إذا قورنت بأجنة عمرها يومين أو ثلاثة، فإن هذه الأجنة مكونة من العديد من الخلايا و لها طبقة رقيقة خارجية واقية – أو "غلاف يشبه الصدفة" – تسهل وضعها أو زراعتها في جدار الرحم فور النقل.

    معظم البويضات المخصبة تنقسم و تطور إلى جنين عمره 3 أيام، لكن  40% فقط من هذه الأجنة تصل لمرحلة الكيسة الأريمية. وتقل النسب لدى النساء اللاتي تخطين سن الأربعين. وقد تحمل الأجنة التي لا تصل لليوم السادس خللاً وراثيًا أو خللاً في الكروموسومات، ولو نقلت إلى الرحم بعد 2-3 أيام، لباءت عملية زرعها بالفشل.

    لذلك، فإنه يفضل مراقبة تطور الأجنة لمرحلة  الكيسة الأريمية في المختبر مما يؤدي الى اختيار أفضلها وبالتالي فرص الحمل تزيد نسبيا بهم.

  • من اللاتي يمكنهن الاستفادة من نقل الكيسة الأريمية؟

    نقل الكيسة الأريمية مفيد للنساء اللاتي لديهن أجنة عالية الجودة بعد الإخصاب في المختبر وبشكل مثالي، إذا كانت هناك 3 أجنة أو أكثر في اليوم الخامس، فإن الأجنة صاحبة أفضل مظهر – أو تكوين – هي التي يتم اختيارها للنقل.

    يعد نقل الكيسة الأريمية مفيد أيضا للنساء الشابات اللاتي يرتفع احتمال الحمل لديهن باستخدام الإخصاب في المختبر.

    وعلاوةً على ذلك، قد يكون نقل الكيسة الأريمية خيارًا مفيدا خاصة لو كان هناك تاريخ سابق من الحمل المتعدد أو تشوه الرحم، وإذا كان قرار المريضة الشخصي هو الخضوع لنقل جنين فردي الانتخاب (eSET).

    إذا كنتم قد مررتم بعدة تجارب زرع فاشلة، فإن توسيع مزرعة أجنتكم المبكرة يسمح لنا بفحص عددها وجودتها لفترة أطول. قد يساعدنا تحديد نسبة الأجنة التي توقف نموها أو لها خصائص أخرى غير طبيعية على تحديد المشكلة المحتملة. وفي هذه الحالات – زراعة الأجنة لمدة 5 أيام – يكون لدينا وقت أيضًا لفحص أية تشوهات وراثية أو كروموسومية باستخدام التشخيص الوراثي قبل الزرع (PGD) و/أو الفحص الوراثي لما قبل الزرع (PGS).

  • كيف يتم نقل الكيسة الأريمية؟

    يتم الإجراء على يد أحد أطبائنا. وهو يشبه أي عملية نقل جنين أخرى ويستغرق 5 دقائق لإتمامه دون الحاجة لتخدير أو وقت إفاقة. وهذه التجربة مماثلة لنقل الجنين الزائف التي نجريها في بداية دورة الإخصاب في المختبر.

  • كيف يساهم نقل الكيسة الأريمية في نجاح تقنيات الإنجاب المساعد؟

    يرتبط نقل الكيسة الأريمية بمعدل ولادة طفل حي مرتفع. الانتظار حتى مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية يساعد على تقييم فرص بقاء الجنين المبكر، مما يفيد كثيرا في حالات معينة.

    عادةً يوصى بنقل أكثر من جنين – إما في مرحلة 2-3 أيام أو في مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية – إلى الرحم، كوسيلة لزيادة فرص الحمل. وقد أوضحت التجارب والأبحاث أنه في النساء اللاتي تقل أعمارهن عن 35 عامًا، يكون لنقل كيسة أريمية واحدة نفس معدل نجاح ولادة جنين حي كما في حالة نقل أكثر من كيسة أريمية. قد يكون نقل جنين واحد خيارًا أكثر أمانًا، حيث يتم تجنب مخاطر الحمل المتعدد. ولكن كيسة أريمية واحدة قد تنقسم بعد النقل وتؤدي للحمل بتوأم.

    على أية حال، ستناقشين مع طبيبك عدد الأجنة المطلوب نقلها، حيث أن هذا القرار يتوقف على عدة عوامل، منها عدد الأجنة المتاحة وجودتها وظروفك الشخصية.

    رغم النتائج الجيدة لنقل الكيسة الأريمية، يجب أن تتذكري أن الأمر لا يناسب كل الحالات وأن تاريخك أو ظروف حالتك قد يؤثران على النتيجة.