Embryoscope

  • What is EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging?

    The EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging system combines the latest digital camera and incubator technology, allowing monitoring of the developing embryo from the time of fertilization to the transfer in the uterus. The sequence of images that are captured are saved and reverted in a detailed movie facilitating the process of embryo selection.

    Embryo selection involves assessment of the first cell division (the time required for the first division of the fertilized egg at day 1), and each programmed cell division through to the 5-8-cell stage at day 3, or the stage of blastocyst at day 5.

    Studying the timeline of these cell divisions along morphology gives us a detailed account of the competency of all the embryos in the dish, and in effect helps us to choose the ones with the best potential for implantation.

  • Who can benefit from the use of EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging?

    EmbryoScope® Time-Lapse imaging is the best way for selecting the most suitable embryo for transfer back in the womb, and therefore, we recommend its use in all of our cases.

    It is of particular advantage for patients that undergo elective Single Embryo Transfer (eSET) or euploide SET (eeSET), as choosing the best embryo will increase chances of a live birth.

    It is also very helpful for patients that had previous unsuccessful attempts. The additional information that EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging provides may be able to pinpoint whether there has been an underlying abnormality or other implication during the early development of the embryos.

  • How is EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging done?

    EmbryoScopeMachine

    The EmbryoScope® Imaging System is handled by an embryologist. Twelve fertilized eggs (the developing embryos) are placed in a slide-type culture dish in the EmbryoScope® incubator, where the monitoring of the process starts.

    Instead of a single ‘snap shot’ for each embryo, thousands of images are recorded and projected through a computer screen. These are studied by the embryologist either individually or collectively, ‘played’ as a movie. Compared to the conventional microscopic observation that only checks the developing embryos at certain time points, EmbryoScope® offers a continuous recording and the possibility to detect certain abnormalities that could be otherwise missed, if took place outside the pre-set time-checks.

    With EmbryoScope® imaging, the embryos remain in the controlled environment of the incubator for much longer periods of time. They are only taken out for changing the media (the liquid in which they are growing). When the developing embryos are examined, the embryologist does not have to keep them under the microscope and out of the incubator, as it happens with conventional methods. The EmbryoScope® images are recorded, and therefore, accessible as many times as required for decisions to be taken.

  • How does the use of EmbryoScope® time-lapse imaging contribute to the success of assisted reproductive techniques?

    Published results from the use of the EmbryoScope® imaging system across fertility clinics have shown an increase in live birth rates over conventional embryo culture systems.

    It is important to note, however, that the only way to rule out hereditary chromosomal abnormalities in prospective embryos is by Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) and / or Preimplantation Genetic Screening (PGS). These genetic analyses can be performed to embryos cultured in the EmbryoScope® time-lapse system.

التصوير الزمني المتتابع لمراحل تطور الأجنة في مختبر أطفال الأنابيب باستخدام جهاز EmbryoScope®

تمتاز هذه التقنية الحديثة بخاصية التسجيل اللحظي المتتابع لجميع مرحلة التطور الكامل من بداية زراعة البويضات بعد حقنها بالحيوانات المنوية للزوج، تلقيحها، تطورهم في المراحل الجنينية الاولى و المتقدمة لغاية عملية نقل الأجنة. وينصح بهذه التقنية الحديثة كوسيلة فعالة لتقييم و أختيار أفضل جنين/أجنة و ذات كفاءة عالية الجودة لهدف ارجاع الاجنة.

  • ما هو التصوير الزمني المتتابع لمراحل تطور الأجنة بأستخدام جهاز EmbryoScope®؟

    تمتاز هذه التقنية الحديثة بجمع أحدث كاميرات رقمية و حاضنات لزراعة الأجنة حديثة و عالية الكفاءة، مما يتيح رصد الجنين خارج الرحم ومراقبته من وقت الإخصاب إلى نقله في الرحم. يتم حفظ سلسلة من الصور التي تم التقاطها وإعادتها في شكل فيلم تفصيلي يسهل عملية اختيار الجنين.

    تتضمن عملية اختيار الجنين تقييمًا للانقسام الأولي للخلية (الوقت اللازم للانقسام الأول للبويضة المخصبة في يوم 1)، وكل انقسام خلوي مبرمج وصولاً إلى مرحلة 5-8 خلايا في اليوم 3 أو مرحلة الكيسة الأريمية في اليوم 5.

  • من الذين يمكنهم الاستفادة من تقنية استخدام EmbryoScope®؟

    يعتبر التصوير الزمني المتتابع لمراحل تطور الأجنة في مختبر أطفال الأنابيب باستخدام جهاز EmbryoScope®هو من أفضل الوسائل الحديثة لاختيار الجنين المناسب لعملية الترجيع  إلى الرحم، وبالتالي فإننا نوصي باستخدامه في جميع حالاتنا.

    وتعتبر ميزة خاصة للمرضى الذين يخضعون لعملية نقل جنين فردي (ESET) أو لعملية نقل جنين فردي سليم وراثيا بعد تشخيصها (eeSET)، مما يعني زيادة نسب الحمل و ايضا فرص ولادة طفل حي.

    بل هي وسيلة فعالة خاصة للمرضى الذين مروا بمحاولات سابقة غير ناجحة. وقد تكون المعلومات الإضافية التي توفرهاهذه التقنية قادرة على تحديد ما إذا كان هناك خلل أساسي غير ظاهر أو آثار وتبعات أخرى خلال فترة النمو الأولى للأجنة.

  • الية عمل جهاز ال EmbryoScope ؟

    EmbryoScopeMachine

    يتم التعامل مع هذا الجهاز بتقنية عالية و مهارة من قبل أحد اختصاصي الأجنة. يتم وضع ما يصل إلى 12 بويضات مخصبة (الأجنة النامية) في مكان مخصص لكل حالة و بشكل فردي في حاضنة EmbryoScope®) حيث تبدأ رصد عملية تطور الأجنة لكل حالة فردية ومراقبتها.

    وبدلا من "أخذ لقطة" واحدة لكل الجنين (وهو ما يتم باستخدام الحاضنات التقليدية)، يتم تسجيل الآلاف من الصور وعرضها من خلال شاشة الكمبيوتر. ويقوم أخصائي الأجنة بدراسة هذه الأجنة سواء بشكل فردي أو جماعي، ويقوم بعرض هذه الصور "وتشغيلها" بمساعدة برامج تحليل Embryoscope®. وبالمقارنة مع الملاحظة المجهرية التقليدية التي تتحقق فقط من الأجنة النامية في نقاط زمنية معينة، بينما يوفر EmbryoScope® تسجيلاً مستمرًا وإمكانية الكشف عن بعض العيوب التي يمكن أن تمر علينا دون ملاحظتها إذا وقعت خارج الفحوصات الزمنية المحددة مسبقًا.

    وباستخدام تكنولوجيا EmbryoScope®، تبقى الأجنة في بيئة تتحكم فيها الحاضنة لفترات من الوقت أطول بكثير.وعندما يتم فحص الأجنة النامية، لا يجب على متخصص الأجنة إبقائهم تحت المجهر بعيدًا خارج الحضانة، كما يحدث في الأساليب التقليدية. ويتم تسجيل صور EmbryoScope®، وبالتالي يمكن الوصول إليها عدة مرات كلما استدعى الأمر ذلك لاتخاذ القرارات التي يجب اتخاذها، و بالتالي تظل جيع الأجنة طيلة فترة بقائها في مختبر اطفال الانابيب في ظروف فيزيولوجية أقرب للطبيعية.

  • كيف يسهم استخدام تكنولوجيا تصوير مراحل تكون الجنين ونموه باستخدام هذه التقنية في نجاح التقنيات المساعدة على الإنجاب؟

    أظهرت الدراسات الحديثة أن استخدام تقنية EmbryoScope® في عيادات الخصوبة تؤدي الى زيادة في معدلات المواليد الحية عن أنظمة زراعة الأجنة التقليدية.

    ومع ذلك فمن المهم أن نلاحظ أن السبيل الوحيد لاستبعاد التشوهات الصبغية الوراثية في الأجنة المستقبلية هي عن طريق التشخيص الجيني قبل الزرع (PGD) و/أو الفحص الجيني قبل الزرع (PGS). يمكن إجراء هذه التحاليل الجينية على أجنة مزروعة بنظام تصوير مراحل تكون الجنين ونموهبمنظار المُضغةEmbryoScope®.

    وأخيرًا، بالنسبة للمريضات اللاتي لم تحملن، يمكن أن توفر الصور الجواب، وتساعدنا على أخذ هذا بعين الاعتبار عند التخطيط لدورة العلاج المقبلة.