MACS/ICSI

Intra-Cytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI)is recommended for male infertility and it can be applied as part of natural-cycle, minimal-stimulation or full In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF).

  • What is ICSI?

    In ICSI, a single sperm is selected and inserted into an egg that has been obtained through IVF treatment. Although ICSI has been routinely used for almost 20 years, it is still considered a major development for the treatment of male infertility. It has been the solution for cases of very low-count, poor-quality and / or difficult to retrieve sperm.

    With the use of fine micromanipulator equipment under microscopy, a sperm can be manually injected into an egg, triggering its fertilisation. ICSI is feasible because a sperm is 100 times smaller than an egg.

    After fertilisation has occurred, 2-3 days or 5 days later(blastocyst stage),the best quality embryo(s) are selected and transferred back in the womb, as in IVF without ISCI. The number of embryos transferred entirely depends on your individual circumstances.

    The end goal of an IVF with ICSI is to have an ongoing, healthy pregnancy followed by a live birth.

  • Who can benefit from ICSI?

    ICSI is the method of choice for male infertility, when the availability, quality and / or quantity of sperm are very limited.

    Men with a very low-count (small number of sperm in the semen), defected-motility (limited movement) and / or abnormal-morphology (misshaped) sperm are good candidates for ICSI. In these cases, the good quality sperm from their samples, which exist but in a low percentage, are extracted and used for the injection.

    This method is also recommended to couples that have a history of previous unsuccessful attempts with IVF.

    ICSI may also be the method of choice, if the sperm comes from a frozen sample and its quality / survival after thawing is not as optimum for usage with IVF.

    ICSI can also benefit men that have undergone a vasectomy or have azoospermia (lack of sperm in the semen). In these cases, the sperm is collected surgically form the sperm producing and storing tissues in the testicles or the epididymis (a tube structure inside the scrotum where sperm are stored and matured).

    Our andrology specialist doctors can give you a full consultation and explain all aspects and risks involved for such procedures, based your individual circumstances. The options may include minor surgery for TEsticular Sperm Extraction (TESE) or Percutaneous Epididymal Sperm Extraction (PESE). Alternatively, microsurgery using a fine needle for the aspiration of sperm from where it is stored in the testes(TEsticular Sperm Aspiration (TESA))or epididymis (Percutaneous Epididymal Testicular Aspiration (PESA))can be employed.

    In AAFC, we highly recommend chromosomal testing of embryos obtained by ICSI after a sperm recovery procedure. Hereditary anomalies can be detected through Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) and /or Preimplanation Genetic Screening (PGS).

  • How is ICSI done?

    ICSI requires the sperm and matured egg collection on the same day. For the extra eggs required, an IVF treatment (ovarian stimulation) must be scheduled in advance. The sperm can be sourced on the day of egg collection, through: (a) fresh sperm collection; (b) thawing of a frozen sample; or(c) minor surgery (TESE, PESE) or microsurgery(TESA, PESA). If the procedure of retrieving sperm is estimated to be difficult or time-consuming for it to happen on the same day as egg collection, then it will be carried out before the IVF cycle begins, and the sample will be stored by freezing until needed.

    The embryologist, who will assess the sperm before ICSI, examines its morphology (shape) under a microsope and performs a series of diagnostic tests. The best sperm are selected and placed in a dish, until the mature eggs become also available.

    Our medical embryologist, next, uses a sharp and hollow needle to pick up a single sperm. A single mature egg is immobilised through the use of a micro manipulation device. The sharp needle carrying the sperm is then driven to pierce the egg, and the sperm is released into its core. The needle is carefully retracted and the inseminated egg is placed in a dish and back in the incubator. The procedure is carefully repeated for all the available eggs.

    The rest of the steps: fertilization, embryo transfer, first pregnancy test and ultrasound scan are performed exactly the same as in IVF. PGD or PGS testing for any chromosomal abnormalities can be performed before embryo transfer.

  • How successful can ICSI be?

    ICSI has been used in nearly half of all the IVFs performed and the two techniques share a very similar success rate.

    About 70-85% of the eggs injected with sperm in ICSI become fertilised. However, the overall outcome of ICSI depends on your individual circumstances. Chromosomal integrity of the sperm used and maternal age are the two main factors responsible for a negative outcome. Normally, younger women exhibit a high percentage of success with ICSI, but that declines dramatically with women over 45.

    If ICSI was not a success, AAFC will offer you support. Our specialist doctors will provide you with a comprehensive consultation for all other available / applicable options, and with explanations, where possible, for the reasons behind a negative outcome.

العزل المغناطيسي للخلية النشطة/الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية

يوصى بإجراء الحقن المجهري للسائل المنوي في سيتوبلازم خلية البويضة في حالة عقم الرجال كما يمكن تنفيذه كجزء من الدورة الطبيعية أو التنشيط المصغر أو عملية أطفال الأنابيب.

  • ما هو الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية (ICSI)؟

    في الحقن المجهري للسائل المنوي في سيتوبلازم خلية البويضة؛ يتم اختيار حيوان منوي واحد وإدخاله في البويضة التي تم الحصول عليها من خلال عملية أطفال الأنابيب. وعلى الرغم من أن الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية قد استخدم بشكل روتيني لما يقرب من 20 عامًا, إلا أنه مازال يعتبر تطورًا كبيرًا في علاج العقم عند الذكور. فهو دائمًا ما يكون الحل لحالات انخفاض عدد الحيوانات المنوية أو افتقارها للجودة أو صعوبة استرجاعها.

    عند استخدام جهاز تشريح ميكريسكوبي دقيق تحت المجهر, يمكن حقن الحيوانات المنوية يدويًا داخل البويضة مما يؤدي إلى تلقيحها. ويصبح الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية ممكنًا وقابلاً للتنفيذ بسبب أن الحيوان المنوي أصغر 100 مرة من البويضة.

    ويتم اختيار الجنين ذي النوعية الأفضل ونقله مرة أخرى إلى الرحم كما في عملية أطفال الأنبيب وليس الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية بعد حدوث الإخصاب بيومين أو ثلاثة أو خمسة أيام لاحقًا (مرحلة الكيسية الأريمية). ويعتمد عدد الأجنة المنقولة كليًا على ظروفك الشخصية (على سبيل المثال عمر الأجنة المتاحة وعددها ونوعيتها أو المحاولات الفاشلة السابقة).

    الهدف النهائي من عملية أطفال الأنابيب إلى جانب الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية هو إيجاد حمل صحي مستمر متبوع بولادة طفل حي.

  • من الذي يمكنه الاستفادة من الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية؟

    يكون الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية هو أفضل طريقة اختيار لمعالجة عقم الرجال عنما تكون نوعية و/أو كمية الحيوانات المنوية المتوفرة محدودة جدًا. وفي حقيقة الأمر كان الحقن المجهري يستخدم في بداية الأمر عندما تم وصف هذه التقنية لعلاج حالات عقم الذكور.

    يعتبر الرجال الذين لديهم عدد منخفض جدًا من (عدد قليل من الحيوانات المنوية في السائل المنوي) الحيوانات المنوية ضعيفة الحركة (حركتها محدودة) و/أو تركيبها وشكلها مشوه من المرشحين باقتدار للخضوع للحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية. وفي هذه الحالات يتم استخراج الحيوانات المنوية ذات الجودة العالية من عيناتهم - الموجودة ولكن بنسبة منخفضة - واستخدامها للحقن.

    ويُنصح بهذه الطريقة أيضًا للأزاوج الذين لديهم تاريخ من المحاولات السابقة غير الناجحة لعملية أطفال الأنابيب.

    قد يكون الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية هو منهج الاختيار- إذا كانت الحيوانات المنوية تأتي من عينة مجمدة وجودتها/باقية على قيد الحياة بعد الذوبان - ليس الأمثل للاستخدام التقليدي لعملية أطفال الأنابيب.

    يمكن أن يكون الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية مفيدًا أيضًا للرجال الذين خضعوا لاستئصال الأسهر (قطع قناة المني) أو لديهم فقد النطاف (انعدام الحيوانات المنوية في السائل المنوي). وفي هذه الحالة يتم جمع الحيوانات المنوية جراحيًا والتي يتم إنتاجها وتخزينها في الخصيتين أو البربخ (هيكل أنبوبي الشكل داخل كيس الصفن حيث يتم توليد الحيوانات المنوية ونضجها).

  • كيف يتم الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية؟

    يختلف الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية عمليًا عن عملية أطفال الأنابيب التقليدية ويتبعه نفس الخطوات تمامًا حتى عملية جمع البويضات.

    يمكن جمع الحيوانات المنوية في يوم جمع البويضات من خلال:

    • جمع السائل المنوي الطازج
    • ذوبان العينة المجمدة
    • عملية جراحية بسيطة, على سبيل المثال استخراج الحيوانات المنوية من الخصية (TESE) أو استخراج الحيوانات المنوية من البربخ عن طريق الجلد (PESE).
    • الجراحة المجهرية على سبيل المثال, مع استخراج الحيوانات المنوية من الخصية (TESE) أو استخراج الحيوانات المنوية من البربخ عن طريق الجلد (PESE).

    إذا قُدر أن إجراء استرجاع الحيوان المنوي سيكون أمرًا صعبًا أو سيستغرق وقتًا طويلاً للقيام به في نفس يوم جمع البويضات, فسيتم تنفيذه قبل بدء دورة أطفال الأنابيب, وسوف يتم تجميد العينات لحين الحاجة إليها. وبدلاً من ذلك فإن هذا الإجراء يمكن القيام به قبل الحقن المجهري بحوالي 24 ساعة عن طريق الحيوانات المنوية التي وضعها في الحاضنة في المختبر لحين الحاجة إليها في اليوم التالي.

    يقوم أخصائي الأجنة - وهو الذي سوف يقيم الحيوانات المنوية قبل الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية - بفحص تركيب الحيوانات المنوية وشكلها وقدرتها على الحركة تحت المجهر. ويتم اختيار أفضل الحيوانات المنوية ووضعها في طبق حتى يتم نضج البويضات أيضًا.

    بعد ذلك يستخدم أخصائي الأجنة إبرة حادة وجوفاء لالتقاط حيوان منوي واحد. وفي نفس الوقت يتم استخدام أنبوب دقيق لحمل البويضة الناضجة ووضعها في مكانها من خلال جهاز التشريح الميكريسكوبي الدقيق. وتكون الإبرة الحادة رفيعة وتستخدم لإنفاذها في البويضة المثبتة ويتم حقن الحيوان المنوي المنفرد في قلبها. ويتم سحب الإبرة بعناية ووضع البويضة المحقونة في طبق ثم إرجاعها للحاضنة (جهاز حضانة البويضات). ويتم تكرار هذا الإجراء لجميع البويضات المتوفرة.

    يتم إجراء باقي الخطوات: التلقيح ونقل الأجنة واختبار الحمل الأول والفحص بالموجات فوق الصوتية بالضبط كما في عملية أطفال الأنابيب. ويمكن إجراء تشخيصات جينية قبل الزرع (PGD)/أو الفحوصات الوراثية قبل الزرع (PGS) لاختبار أي اضطراب صبغي قبل النقل.

  • ما مدى نجاح الحقن المجهري؟

    حاليًا يستخدم الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية كأسلوب روتيني لتلقيح البويضات في أكثر من 90% من الأزواج الذين يمرون بالتلقيح الصناعي. و تشمل هذه الحالات- وهي جزء من عوامل العقم لدى الذكور- العقم غير المفسر أو عمر الأم المتقدم أو محاولة سابقة فاشلة لعملية أطفال الأنابيب وغيرها من الأسباب الأخرى.

    ويتم تخصيب حوالي 70-85% من البويضات المحقونة بالحيوانات المنوية في عملية الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية؛ ومع ذلك فإن النتيجة النهائية للحقن المجهري تعتمد على ظروف حالتك الشخصية. وتعتبر سلامة الكروموسومات للحيوانات المنوية المستخدمة وعمر الأم هما العاملان الرئيسان المسئولان عن النتائج السلبية. وعادةً تُظهر النساء الأصغر سنًا نسبة عالية من نجاح الحمل باستخدام الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية ولكن ينخفض بشكل كبير مع النساء اللاتي فوق سن 45.

    إذا كان لديك المزيد من الأسئلة حول الحقن المجهري للحيوانات المنوية داخل هيولي الخلية يمكن لأطبائنا المتخصصين توفير المزيد من المعلومات لك ومناقشة جميع الخيارات المتاحة اعتمادًا على ظروف حالتك الشخصية.