Gradients

The density-gradient sperm separation is one of the most popular sperm processing methods.

Density-Gradient Sperm Separation

  • What is a density-gradient sperm separation?

    The density-gradient sperm separation is one of the most popular sperm processing methods.

    Density gradients refer to a multilayered solution composed of liquids that do not mix well because of their different densities. A density gradient is formed by the physical property that a less dense liquid is lighter than a denser one, so that the lightest liquid is always on top and the heaviest, at the bottom. These two liquid phases are divided by a clearly visible barrier, or interphase.

    With this method, sperms are isolated based on their density after centrifugation. Morphologically normal, abnormal or dead sperms have different densities. At the end of centrifugation, each sperm will be located at the gradient level that corresponds to its density.

    In other words, each density gradient functions as a sieve separating the normal from the abnormal and dead sperms, white blood cells or other waste products that can be normally found in the semen. The normal sperms sediment at the bottom of the tube after centrifugation, while all the rest become trapped in the top layer.

    Sperms isolated by this method can then be re-suspended in the appropriate medium and utilized for a fertility treatment.

  • How is density-gradient sperm separation done?

    Density-gradient sperm separation is performed by one of our andrology technologists in the laboratory following sperm collection for fertility treatment.

    Initial stages of semen preparation include liquefaction (the ability of semen to turn from the gel-like state of the ejaculate into a liquid state), semen washing and centrifugation. Then the technologist prepares the density gradient by carefully layering the two solutions of different densities, one on top of the other. The liquid semen is added last, and with a 20-minute centrifugation step, the normal, good-quality sperms are allowed to pass through the layers, leaving behind debris, abnormal and dead sperms.

    After centrifugation, the top density-gradient layer is discarded and the good quality sperms are washed by re-suspension in medium and re-centrifugation. A final re-suspension into a medium for the subsequent fertility treatment brings this method at an end, after about 1 hour of processing.

الفصل متدرج الكثافة للحيوانات المنوية

الفصل متدرج الكثافة للحيوانات المنوية هو واحد من أكثر الطرق شيوعًا في التعامل مع الحيوانات المنوية.

  • ما هو الفصل متدرج الكثافة للحيوانات المنوية؟

    الفصل متدرج الكثافة للحيوانات المنوية هو واحد من أكثر الطرق شيوعًا في التعامل مع الحيوانات المنوية. 

     تشير تدرجات الكثافة إلى سائل متعدد الطبقات يتألف من سوائل لا تمتزج جيدًا بسبب كثافتها المختلفة. تتكون تدرجات الكثافة طبقًا للخواص الفزيائية حيث يكون السائل الأقل كثافة أخف من السائل الأكثر كثافة لذلك يكون السائل الأقل كثافة في الأعلى والأكثر كثافة في الأسفل.  يتم تقسيم الحالتين السائلتين بحاجز واضح يمكن رؤيته.

     في هذه الطريقة، يتم عزل الحيوانات المنوية طبقًا لكثافتها بعد عملية الطرد المركزي. حيث تختلف كثافة الحيوانات المنوية العادية أو الغير عادية أو الميتة. وفي نهاية عملية الطرد المركزي، سوف يستقر كل حيوان منوي في مستوى التدرج الذي يتوافق مع كثافته.

    وبمعنى آخر، تعمل وظائف متدرجة الكثافة كفلتر يفصل الحيوانات المنوية العادية عن الغير عادية والميتة وخلايا الدم البيضاء أو البقايا الأخرى التي تتواجد عادة في السائل المنوي. تستقر الحيوانات المنوية العادية في قاع الأنبوب بعد الطرد المركزي، في حين توجد جميع المكونات المتبقية محاصرة في الطبقة العليا.

    يمكن إعادة تعليق الحيوانات المنوية المعزولة بهذه الطريقة في الوسط المناسب و تستخدم في علاج الإخصاب.

  • كيف يتم عمل الفصل متدرج الكثافة للحيوانات المنوية؟

    يتم عمل الفصل متدرج الكثافة للحيوانات المنوية داخل المعمل من قبل أحد أخصائي تكنولوجيا الذكورة لدينا بعد جمع السائل المنوي لعلاج الخصوبة.

    تتضمن المراحل الأولي من إعداد السائل المنوي "السيولة" (قدرة السائل المنوي على التحول من حالة القذف الهلامية إلى الحالة السائلة)، حيث يخضع السائل المنوي للغسل والطرد المركزي. ثم يعد أخصائي التكنولوجيا تدرج الكثافة بوضع السائلين مختلفي الكثافة بعناية الواحد فوق الآخر.  ثم يضاف السائل المنوي في النهاية، وبتطبيق خطوة الطرد المركزي لمدة 20 دقيقة، حيث يسمح ذلك بمرور الحيوانات المنوية العادية ذات الجودة الجيدة بين الطبقات تاركة ورائها الحيوانات المنوية المحطمة والغير عادية والميتة.

    بعد الطرد المركزي، يتم استبعاد الطبقة العليا من الفصل متدرج الكثافة وتغسل الحيوانات المنوية ذات الجودة الجيدة بإعادة تعليقها في وسط ثم إعادة الطرد المركزي. يضع إعادة التعليق النهائي في وسط لعلاج الخصوبة التالي حدًا لنهاية الطريقة بعد حوالي ساعة واحدة من إعادة تعليق إلى وسيلة لعلاج الخصوبة اللاحقة يجلب هذا الأسلوب في نهايته، بعد حوالي ساعة واحدة من المعالجة.