Swim up

Swim-up is one of the most common methods for semen processing. Its principle is simple; it uses the ability of healthy sperm to swim towards an inviting environment.

  • What is swim-up?

    Swim-up is one of the most common methods for semen processing. Its principle is simple; it uses the ability of healthy sperm to swim towards an inviting environment, such as a hospitable medium. Less-motile, reduced-quality and dead sperms remain behind along the other components of the semen.

  • How is swim-up done?

    Sperm swim-up is performed by one of our andrology technologists in the laboratory following sperm collection for fertility treatment.

    Initial stages of semen preparation include liquefaction (the ability of semen to turn from the gel-like state of the ejaculate into a liquid state), semen washing and centrifugation. Following, the sample is re-centrifuged softly and collected at the bottom of a conical tube. A hospitable and nutritious medium is added on top of the processed semen layer, and the tube is placed in an angled position inside an incubator that mimics the conditions and temperature of the human body for one hour.

    The healthy sperms that are able to swim up migrate out of the semen into the medium. Debris, slow, immotile and dead sperms remain behind. At the end of the incubation, the technologist carefully retains the medium layer from the tube and finally prepares it for an ART. A swim-up sperm process takes about 1.5 hours.

تقنية الطفو للأعلى

تقنية الطفو للأعلى هي واحدة من أكثر الطرق شيوعًا في التعامل مع الحيوانات المنوية. يعد مبدؤها بسيطاً؛ حيث تستخدم قدرة الحيوان المنوية السليمة على السباحة نحو بيئة جاذبة، مثل الوسط الملائم. تبقى الحيوانات المنوية ذات التحرك الأقل والجودة المنخفضة والحيوانات المنوية الميتة وراء المكونات الأخرى من السائل المنوي.

  • ما هي تقنية الطفو للأعلى؟

    تقنية الطفو للأعلى هي واحدة من أكثر الطرق شيوعًا في التعامل مع الحيوانات المنوية. يعد مبدأها بسيطاً؛ حيث تستخدم قدرة الحيوان المنوية السليمة على السباحة نحو بيئة جاذبة، مثل الوسط الملائم. تبقى الحيوانات المنوية ذات التحرك الأقل والجودة المنخفضة والحيوانات المنوية الميتة وراء المكونات الأخرى من السائل المنوي.

  • كيف تتم عملية تقنية الطفو للأعلى؟

    يقوم أحد أخصائي تكنولوجيا الذكورة لدينا بمعالجة الحيوانات المنوية بتقنية الطفو لأعلى داخل المعمل وذلك بعد جمع عينات السائل المنوي لعلاج الخصوبة.

    تتضمن المراحل الأولي من إعداد السائل المنوي "السيولة" (قدرة السائل المنوي على التحول من حالة القذف الهلامية إلى الحالة السائلة)، حيث يخضع السائل المنوي للغسل والطرد المركزي. وبعد ذلك، تخضع العينة لطرد مركزي منخفض مرة أخرى وتجمع في الجزء السفلي من أنبوب مخروطي الشكل. ثم يتم إضافة وسط ملائم ومغذي على الجزء العلوي من طبقة السائل المنوي التي تم معالجتها. يتم وضع الأنبوب داخل الحضانة في وضع بشكل زاوية تحاكي ظروف ودرجة حرارة جسم الإنسان لمدة ساعة واحدة.

    تهاجر الحيوانات المنوية السليمة التي تكون قادرة علي التحرك من السائل المنوي إلى الوسط. وتبقى الحيوانات المنوية المحطمة والبطيئة والغير متحركة والميتة في أسفل الأنبوب. وفي نهاية فترة الحضانة، يفصل أخصائي التكنولوجيا الوسط بعناية من الأنبوب، وأخيرًا يقوم بإعدادها للتقنيات العلاج المساعدة.  وتستغرق عملية تحرك الحيوانات المنوية حوالي 1.5 ساعة.